Skip to content

moroccan food night

December 21, 2009
moroccan raw carrot salad

moroccan raw carrot salad

My husband is getting more and more sophisticated with his wine obsession.  Now he’s all about wine pairings, so I have to adjust my cooking as to what type of wine is uncorked.

Today there was a bottle of Syrah hanging out on the counter, so I knew I had to do something spicy to match.  I had some Moroccan Lamb Sausages from Sunterra in the freezer, so I made two accompaniments:  Saffron-Cardamom Rice, and Moroccan Raw Carrot Salad – both from Epicurious. Click through for recipes.  My half-ass food blogging philosophy does not allow for retyping of recipes that are easily accessible online.

saffron-cardamom rice

Now while neither of these dishes are particularly visually attractive (you should see the lamb sausage – even worse.  And all my photos in the evening are yellow because we have cedar ceilings and yellow Mexican chandeliers – but I’m NOT apologizing for this), they were chock full of interesting complex flavours, including pine nuts browned in butter and cardamom (I only had pods that I use for chai, so I spent a few cursing minutes cracking the dried pods to get at the seeds).

And yes, all the dishes went with the spicy wine.  I dodged the bullet and kept the peace in my house once again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 2:49 pm

    It’s nice that your husband is experimenting with wine. I am just getting cooking under my belt; I think next we’ll try wine.

Leave a Reply

