Skip to content

perfect saturday evening meal

December 19, 2009

mikado

My Mike drove downtown to pick me up take-away Japanese food.  What a wise man.  A happy Sue is a happy Mike.

Mikado Restaurant has my favourite version of chirashi, which is raw fish on rice.  This is an expensive and decadent dish, so I tempered it with a modest seaweed salad.  If a place doesn’t have goma-ae (spinach salad), I order the seaweed one.  I think my body craves extra iron and this does the trick.

The take out version of chirashi from Mikado is just as good as the in-house one.  Tender pieces of fish over perfectly executed rice.  Even eating it out of a tin container did not detract from the experience.

Mikado Restaurant
10350 109 Street
and other locations
Edmonton
780.425.8096

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bellavino permalink
    December 21, 2009 9:53 am

    That is the perfect Saturday evening meal! What a lucky lady you are to have a man that will brave busy roads to bring you such a tasty dinner!

  2. December 21, 2009 7:33 pm

    Yes, he’s a treat…just took me 33 years to find him, but the wait was worth it.

Leave a Reply

