Skip to content

christmas baking

December 12, 2009

sweet spiced rosemary pecans

I’m hosting a big ole work party here on Monday, so we have a deadline for holiday cooking and baking.  Our freezer is full of Tupperware that has warning stickies on them:  DO NOT EAT!  PARTY FOOD!

Here’s what Ella and I have made.

Most are tried and true recipes to make sure they turn out…with two new additions, care of Dinner with Julie.  Now, I’ve met Julie and have even broken bread with her, and I trust her baking instincts fully.

brown butter and rosemary shortbread

Sure enough, the Spiced Rosemary Pecans are so addictive that I hid them downstairs in the freezer to save them from myself.   And the Brown Butter and Rosemary Shortbread? I adore the way they taste – that savoury sweet combination is delightful, but when I cut them into wedges, most of them fell apart.  I know this is entirely my fault and I must have mis-measured something.  BUT I did do a salvage job of about 6 nice wedges, and the erratically shaped ones have found their way to a tin that I will happily consume.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dinnerwithjulie permalink
    December 12, 2009 4:08 pm

    They are quite crumbly, aren’t they? I’ve had this problem with every Scottish shortbread I’ve made – but I find if I cut them while they’re still warm, they’re fine. It’s cutting cold shortbread that gives me trouble!

  2. December 12, 2009 4:10 pm

    You ARE one smart cookie…thanks for the tip. They TASTE delicious…I’m glad a bunch of them crumbled b/c that gives me permission to eat the broken bits.

  3. unplannedcooking permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:06 am

    That looks fabulous, and I should but that sticker on all of our food. Not that we’re having a party. I just need to stop eating it!

Leave a Reply

