Skip to content

steak and gnocchi with mushroom sauce

November 16, 2009

gnocchi with mushroom, arugula and pepper sauce

Being married to a good ole Alberta boy, we eat steak here about once a week.  Mike asked that I photograph his steaks.  Here is your steak, Mike:

steak

I served them on a bed of arugula, with parmesan butter slathered on top, lemon squeezed over, and this balsamic sauce.

I had some gnocchi languishing in the freezer.  I sure do love gnocchi, although I’ve never made it myself, and always buy it pre-packaged.  I had the most amazing homemade gnocchi when Ella and I were in Seattle. I can still remember how it tastes.

Anyhow, I made a mushroom sauce to go along with my frozen gnocchi.  It ain’t no dish from Tavolata, but it sure tasted good – very hearty and peppery to go along with those soft gnocchi pillows.

Gnocchi with Mushroom Arugula Pepper Sauce
-adapted from Gourmet recipe

Package of gnocchi (or, if you are more creative than I, make your own)
2 Tablespoons butter
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 cups mushrooms, any kind, sliced
1/4 cup chopped red onion
2 cups chicken stock
1 Tablespoon fresh sage, chopped
salt and lots of pepper
grated parmesan for topping

Cook a package of gnocchi until they float to the top.  Drain and set aside.

Melt butter and olive oil in a heavy frying pan until brown.  Add mushrooms and onion and saute about ten minutes.  Add sage and chicken stock – cook until stock is reduced, about 8 minutes.  Season with loads of pepper and salt.  Top with grated parmesan.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    November 17, 2009 2:31 pm

    Have a “gnocchi coversation” with Grandma sometime..she will tell you about her disaster when draining a potful of homemade gnocchi.

Leave a Reply

