Skip to content

food errands in edmonton

November 16, 2009

 

lemonmeringuecake

lemon meringue cake from duchess

I had a very pleasant Sunday afternoon food shopping in Edmonton.  Usually I feel rather despondent about living here (I’m old remember, so I’ve put in my time in this city), but every once in a while, a glimmer shines through, like today.

First I dropped of Isaac at work at the grocery store, where he’s very diligently stacking produce, I’m sure.  Then I picked up a triple non-fat Americano Misto from a place that’s not very local, but it is locally everywhere.  I overheard people talking about going to church and yoga class.  I did neither, but I should.

I walked over to Greenwoods and purchased a big fat novel to read:  Barbara Kingsolver’s The Lacuna based on a review I read in the NY Times.  The writing in this book is so beautiful I’m savouring it slowly.

I stopped by Planet Organic to get G’s Hummus, which is still my favourite, with its chunks of garlic, and Happy Camel Pita bread.  Planet Organic only seems to sell whole wheat pita and we like the white, but oh well, we warm the pitas up in the microwave and it is all good.

Then I drove to Duchess and bought the only Lemon Meringue Cake that was on display.  I told the woman behind me:  ‘I’m buying that’ so she wouldn’t get her hopes up.  The place was packed.  Good for them for closing on Mondays and Tuesdays.  Bakers need a life too.

Then up to Paddy’s Cheese Shop.  How lucky are we to have a dedicated cheese shop?  I hope this place never closes down.  I bought an incredible chunk of Smoked Applewood Cheddar (a stunning $17 worth that Ella will happily consume) and a chunk of Manchego, which I adore. Buying cheese made me very happy.

Now I am going to retire to couch with a cup of tea to read my book.   As one of my very favourite Natalie Merchant songs says:  Life is sweet.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 1:01 pm

    Sounds like a great afternoon. When I was at Duchess the lemon tart looked fabulous – looks like the meringue cake was good too. I didn’t know Barbara Kingsolver had a new novel out – she’s one of my favourite writers so I will have to pick it up!

  2. November 16, 2009 1:17 pm

    Mmm, manchego… Instead of a sweet treat the other night I had a hunk of manchego and some Cabernet. Nearly beats a cookie as a bathtime snack in my mind.

  3. Bellavino permalink
    November 17, 2009 9:50 am

    That sounds like a wonderful day that will spill over into goodies for the rest of the week!

  4. Dajana permalink
    November 26, 2009 5:44 pm

    How was the Lemon Meringue cake from Duchess? I’m dying to know as I just ordered their chocolate ‘Duke’ for my husband’s birthday!

  5. November 26, 2009 9:22 pm

    you know, i love duchess, but i think i like the classic lemon meringue pie better than the cake version….just a personal taste thing. it was very lovely looking…but there wasn’t enough variation in texture…soft meringue, soft filling and soft cake. the pie has a crust that adds a crunch.

Leave a Reply

