Skip to content

michael smith’s chocolate chip cookie

November 13, 2009

 

cookie

chocolate chip cookie by way of michael smith

I’ve been carefully following Julie Van Rosendaal’s accounts of being a host at Christmas in November at Jasper Park Lodge.   I gobbled up her accounts of the food and drink preparations and feasting.  I wish I was there. I’m trying not to be green eyed (even thought I AM green eyed) and just happy for all the participants, but it is hard.  They had an amazing array of celebrities from the Canadian food world, like Julie, Anna Olson and Edmonton’s own Lianne Faulder.

While I could not justify the cost ($749 per person for two nights, which is not unreasonable for a gorgeous Fairmont property and all that food), I had to make due with reading Julie’s posts and eating only vicariously.  When she recounted a session where Chef Michael Smith (Chef at Home) made what he termed an ultimate chocolate chip cookie – I thought:  I CAN DO THAT!  That’s one thing I can do, is bake cookies, even if it is in my modest (mouse infested) kitchen in southwest Edmonton.

The recipe?  Is on Julie’s site here.  Along with a very amusing photo of her husband dancing with a feather boa.

And the result?  As promised, a soft on the inside, crunchy on the outside old fashioned chocolate chip cookie.  I think I over-measured my flour (I had a little friend helping me) so these were rounder and more substantial than the original.  But a classic winner, without my usual additions of oatmeal or cinnamon.  Just the thing to bake and eat on a homebound Friday night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    November 15, 2009 8:06 pm

    You mean this recipe is giving Washington Chocolate Chip Cookies a run for a favorite? That’s certainly going against family tradition, my Dear!

  2. November 17, 2009 11:52 am

    Oh, yum. yes I was green with envy, too. Jasper is so gorgeous! Kudos to Julie for keeping us posted on the event though.

    I’ll have to try these. Hm, wonder if the nurses from Mateo’s ward would enjoy them.We want to bring something by as a thank you..

Leave a Reply

