Skip to content

chocolate pecan toffee

November 8, 2009

 

toffee

chocolate pecan toffee

There’s a mouse living in my kitchen and I just kicked H1N1 in the butt.  Well, to tell you the truth, I have been sick for 12 long days.  So I guess H1N1 actually kicked my butt, but my main point is that I’m back!  And I’m baking!  Even with fear of a mouse jumping out at me when I open a kitchen drawer.  I am very brave.

After spending seven days propped up on the couch wrapped in a blanket with just enough energy to click through pages on my laptop, I’ve had lots of time to discover new food blogs.  One lovely blog is called Dana Treats.  She’s from Seattle, and she has a beautiful post about her son Graham.  Since I’ve been to Holland too (check out her post to see what I mean), I took special notice of her blog.  When she tweeted:  Just made this toffee.  Sooooo good, I thought:  BY GUM!  That’s what I feel like – TOFFEE!  And so toffee it was.

Chocolate Pecan Toffee
adapted from Chocolate Peanut Toffee from Dana Treats by way of Gourmet

2 sticks butter, cut into pieces
1 cup white sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup pecans, chopped and toasted
handful of chocolate chips

In a heavy pot, melt the butter, sugar and salt.  Put a candy thermometer in and boil gently until it is at 300 degrees.  Take off stove and stir in pecans.  Spread on a greased cookie sheet.  Sprinkle chocolate chips on top.  Leave for two minutes and then spread melted chocolate over candy.  Put in the freezer until it sets.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 8:08 am

    Toffee can make anybody feel better!

  2. November 9, 2009 12:13 pm

    This sounds delicious. I also wanted to say that I really like your big photos!

  3. November 9, 2009 12:19 pm

    Hey, thanks Isabelle! I got a new lens and I’m pretty excited about it…still figuring it out, though.

    And that toffee is TOO GOOD. I’m thinking of hiding in the deepfreeze so it is a longer trek for me to dip into it!

  4. November 9, 2009 3:51 pm

    Glad to hear that you are on the mend.

  5. November 10, 2009 12:21 pm

    best. dessert. EVER.

  6. November 10, 2009 12:49 pm

    Gosh, I think this codetechnology guy is my biggest fan. Kind of creepy, but hey, I’ll roll with it.

Leave a Reply

