Skip to content

lemon buttermilk pudding cake

November 2, 2009

 

lemonbuttermilk

lemon buttermilk pudding cake

Now, ever since I had kids, my grandma has gotten me a Canadian Living subscription.  I never had the heart to tell her that I wasn’t nearly crafty or homey enough to fully appreciate the magazine, but I do like to look at any and all of the recipes.

I ripped out the page that had a Lemon Buttermilk Pudding Cake because even separately, all these words appeal to me. Lemon.  Buttermilk.  Pudding.  Cake.  And although puddings in general do not photograph well, they do taste good.   This one is all soft and warm and tart – a generous layer of cake gives way to a soft filling on the bottom.  Just the thing to make to entice any sick people in your house to eat – I had a bowlful last night myself for supper.

Lemon Buttermilk Pudding Cake
-from Canadian Living

3 eggs, separated
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup white flour
pinch salt
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
2 Tablespoons melted butter
1 Tablespoon lemon rind
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350.

Whisk the egg yolks with the sugar until smooth.  Whisk in flour and salt.  Whisk in buttermlk, butter, lemon rind and lemon juice.

In a mixer, beat egg whites until soft peaks form.  Fold them into the yolk mixture.  Pour into a greased 8 x 8 pan.  Put pan in larger dish and fill it 1/2 up with hot water.

Bake for 35 minutes, until starting to brown on top.  Let cool for 30 minutes before digging in.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 11:03 am

    Those words all appeal to me too 🙂 This looks delicious.

  2. November 2, 2009 11:17 am

    I paired mine with choc ice cream! Separate bowls of course, I’m not a complete Philistine…

    Get better soon foodiesuz!

  3. November 2, 2009 1:08 pm

    Yum — what a perfect texture. And I can imagine it is quite good served with ice cream.

Leave a Reply

