Skip to content

help! going to ottawa!

October 27, 2009

OK, I sort of forgot that I’m going to Ottawa tomorrow for a research meeting.  Because I was all caught up with going to Halifax, I’ve BARELY researched Ottawa at all.

I know I am staying near the Byward Market, which is good.  I will have two mornings free for breakfast.  The rest of the time I’m in team meetings, team dinners, etc.  But breakfast is very important.

AS IS COFFEE (That’s why I put it in capital letters).

Can anybody help me with breakfast and coffee in Ottawa recommendations?  Here’s what I’ve dug up from Chowhound, etc:

The French Baker
Planet Coffee
Xpresso Cafe

Um, that’s it.  Help.  Please.  Or I will be brewing the in-room coffee in the hotel and eating stale muffins and that would be very very bad.

ps:  after this, I will likely not travel anywhere for a year.  This is a blip in my regular itinerary.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    October 27, 2009 10:05 pm

    As you know, I can’t give you any suggestions for Ottawa, but have a safe trip and enjoy. BTW love your header image here…nice eye, my dear. xxxxx

  2. October 27, 2009 10:07 pm

    This isn’t fancy — but from my university days but I enjoyed breakfast at Zak’s Diner http://www.zaksdiner.com/

  3. Jen C. permalink
    October 29, 2009 12:17 pm

    If you have one nearby check out Bridgehead. Delicious coffee and quite nice pastries.

    Also depending on what you’re looking for for restaurants

    Murray Street Kitchen, Kinki, eighteen are all my favs.

    Enjoy my home town. Please post… I’ll visit vicariously through you.

  4. Kathy permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:57 pm

    I know that you’ve already been and gone, however, I just wanted to suggest Ideal Coffee if you ever come back to the capital. They roast their own on site and thee Prince of Darkness is heaven!

    http://www.idealcoffees.com/

  5. Donna permalink
    November 26, 2009 5:47 pm

    http://www.chezcora.com/
    Cora’s restaurant has been highly recommended as the go to place for breakfast in Ottawa. I personnally haven’t been there, but have been told that its an awesome place by family members that go there often. There is several locations and at least one of them are downtown in that area.
    The Byward Market offers an awesome bakery as well as some other lovely food spots. Hope you have time to wander around parliament hill, its a nice spot to visit!
    Enjoy your visit to Ottawa!

Leave a Reply

