Skip to content

food in halifax – farmers market and fid resto

October 22, 2009
halifax harbour

halifax harbour

I had a limited culinary experience in Halifax.  Since I was there for a conference, I mostly ate hotel conference food.  I have absolutely no comment about that.

I did manage to nip away with my colleagues for two memorable meals:  a brunch at Fid Resto and dinner at Bish.  (More on Bish later). We tried to get into Chives on a Monday night, but were sadly and rudely turned away.  I never had time to hike up to Jane’s on the Common, which made me sad.  But there was a Kitchen Party associated with the conference and I consumed a whole lobster.  With my bare hands!

And of course, there’s always the local farmers’ market, which is actually my favourite local experience no matter what city I’m in.  Halifax’s market is on Saturday morning in the Alexander Keith Brewery building:

alexander keith brewery

alexander keith brewery

corn glorious corn

corn glorious corn

mussels for breakfast

mussels for breakfast

The Halifax Farmers’ Market is massive and mostly indoors, in an intricate interconnected set of buildings.  There are about a bazillion people there – almost exclusively local types picking up their groceries for the week.  It was quite delightful.

We meandered up Spring Garden Road to Fid Resto for brunch.  Fid is a little place nestled in a courtyard building on Dresden Row.   I’ll let the photos speak for themselves…the Good Bowl was a huge bowl of fruit, goat cheese and homemade peanut butter, and the eggs benny were served perched on fluffy popovers on a bed of kale.  Food is local, service is low key, decor is funky.  All my favourite elements.

good sport server at fid's

fid resto server

the good bowl

the good bowl

eggs benny with kale

eggs benny with kale

Fid Resto
The Courtyard
1569 Dresden Row
Halifax, Nova Scotia
902.422.9062

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 1:24 pm

    Oh oh, oh! I miss that market so much! One of the best across the country, by far.
    And Fid must be new since I was last in Halifax (2 years ago) but I know the address, I used to live just down the road!

  2. November 10, 2009 11:25 am

    Mmmm. Fid! Though I never have been there for brunch I did love the Pad Thai when I was there. Jane’s on the Commons is another favourite. Too bad you couldn’t get into Chives. I’m so impressed by the amount of restaurants who are dedicated to local foods here. Food is always fresh and goes perfectly with the season.

    Thanks for sharing! I wish you could share some of that food through the computer. Those Eggs Benny look yummy!

    Cynthia
    novascotia.com

Leave a Reply

