Skip to content

cora – breakfast and lunch place

September 29, 2009
 cora sign

cora sign

Sharon at Only Here for the Food has her ear to the ground and her finger on the pulse of the food community in Edmonton. I do not know how she finds our local food news first.  But she just does.

This morning, I read on her blog that Cora, the breakfast chain from out East, was opening today on the southside in Edmonton, just south of the old movie theatres on Calgary Trail, in a new strip mall.  So I dutifully trundled over there after dropping kids off at school.

Now, it isn’t fair to review a restaurant three hours after it opened.  So I will talk in generalities here.

My first thought when I walked into their bright spacious restaurant:  finally!  A breakfast place to take the kids!  The stack of high chairs in the corner signaled that it is in fact kid friendly.  Then I had a very vague memory of pre-kids and what a group of us university student types used to do on Sunday mornings, and I thought – a hangover breakfast place too!

Sure enough, Cora is a step up from Smitty’s and Denny’s.  It ain’t no Wildflower Grill, but they don’t pretend to be gourmet or local.  For me, Cora is a replacement for the long-lamented Albert’s on the corner of Whyte and 104th that burned down a few years ago.

We are talking breakfast food here, plain and simple.

cora poached eggs and sausage

cora poached eggs and sausage

The most important thing about breakfast food, especially eggs?  They must arrive hot.  And my order of poached eggs and sausage did – steamin’ hot, with potato wedge hashbrowns that were cooked firm, not mushy, very buttered multigrain toast and a generous three medium sized breakfast sausages.  Good value.  Regular food.

And while the service isn’t a well oiled machine yet, the servers were smiley and pleasant.  I guarantee this place will be packed on the weekend mornings.  Edmonton has needed a ‘breakfast only’ place for a very long time, and Cora serves that niche well.

Cora
27 Avenue and Calgary Trail
Gateway Village
Edmonton

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 9:34 pm

    Thanks for checking it out so early! I’m sure it’ll be winter by the time I get the chance to go…

  2. September 30, 2009 1:18 pm

    Cora’s is great. We eat there lots in Charlottetown, and I used to go with my friends when I lived in Quebec too. What I love best about it is the scads of fresh fruit they serve with many of the breakfasts. And the cheddar-spinach omelet is great.

Trackbacks

  1. Only Here for the Food » Blog Archive » Food Notes for October 5, 2009

Leave a Reply

