Skip to content

chipotle chicken cacciatore

September 29, 2009
cuminchicken

chipolte chicken cacciatore

I’m trying to cut back on my food magazine consumption.  I get Bon Appetit, Saveur and Jamie in the mail.  Then I pick up Gourmet, Fine Cooking and Food and Wine in my travels (usually at Sunterra).  If I’m totally honest with myself, I’d say I enjoy Bon Appetit and Gourmet magazines best.  That’s all I am going to buy next month.  I promise.  And I’ll let my Saveur and Jamie subscriptions lapse.  It is decreed.

And tonight for dinner?  A recipe from Fine Cooking, which flies in the face of my magazine austerity program (see above).  Oh well.

This was a perfectly spiced delight of a chicken dish.  I made some adjustments – added tomato sauce and pasta to make it a cacciatore.  But the spice rub and the chipotle added nice heat to those dear old chicken thighs.  I wilted some spinach and garlic, too.  A very satisfying meal indeed.

Chipotle Chicken Cacciatore
adapted from Fine Cooking

1.5 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon chipotle sauce
salt
4 chicken breasts, bone in
3 Tablespoons olive oil
2 cloves garlic, peeled, mashed and chopped
1 jar red peppers, drained
1 cup tomato sauce
1/4 chopped cilantro
1 cup cooked pasta, like rotini

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

In a medium bowl, combine 2 Tablespoons olive oil, 1 teaspoon cumin, 1/2 teaspoon chipotle sauce, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon salt.  Add chicken thighs and mix.

Put the chicken thighs in a casserole dish and cook for 20 minutes, turning once.  In the meantime, cook 1 cup of pasta in salted water.

Using a hand held mixer, whir up the rest of the spices, olive oil and red peppers.  Mix in the tomato sauce.

Take the chicken thighs out of the oven, and add the cooked pasta and sauce.  Put back in the oven and cook for an additional 10 minutes.  Sprinkle cilantro on top and serve.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 1:30 pm

    I’m huffing and puffing with excitement because I have some chipolte in the fridge…..4 kilos of tomatoes in front of me (to make roasted passata), absolutely love cumin especially when dry-roasted and crushed from whole seeds……………. I bow

Leave a Reply

