Skip to content

blueberry boy bait by smitten kitchen

September 23, 2009

bluberry boy bait

bluberry boy bait

Ella made this after school today.  She’s 13, so I’m scared to ask if she made it for real boy bait.  There is a young man in her class that walks his dog very slowly past our house every single day.  I don’t know if it is a coincidence, but I have seen him look longingly towards the window for a glimpse of lovely Ella.

I am going to get in a lot of trouble for saying that.

So I tell Ella – Grandma Marilynne is coming from the island to visit us!  You have to make her a dessert.  And so Ella did, thanks to Smitten Kitchen, who is mysteriously MIA since the birth of her baby.  That’s what happens folks!  These damn kids take up a lot of time, no matter how old they are!  Well, congrats to her!  (Not like she reads this blog.  But still.  The birth of every single baby deserves to be celebrated with great joy).

Here is Smitten Kitchen’s delightful recipe for Blueberry Boy Bait.  May I note that it smells exceedingly fragrant when baking in the oven, which is why I allowed the oven to be turned on when it is 31 degrees (celsius) outside.

And the taste!  Well, it is super buttery and luscious.  The blueberries kind of migrated to the middle, but it doesn’t matter.  It is almost like a less-dense pound cake on the side sans blueberries.  Soft and squishy and yummy.  Kind of like me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    September 23, 2009 6:03 pm

    I do love Smitten Kitchen. My wife and I made this for her new co-workers. Obviously, it was a hit. Sooooo good.

  2. Linds permalink
    September 25, 2009 8:46 am

    Delicious. Tip for Ella – if you don’t want your berries to migrate or ‘float’ in a recipe…say muffins, it helps to toss them in flour before adding. It helps them stick where they are.

  3. September 25, 2009 1:17 pm

    There has been a lot of baking happening over there for how hot it has been! I can’t wait until I have my baby and it grows big enough that I can make it bake me stuff too 🙂

  4. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    September 25, 2009 9:11 pm

    And here I thought the delicious dessert was made just for me!! No one told me the smell of it baking was to entice longing looks from a dog walking boy from the neighbourhood! xxxxx

  5. September 26, 2009 10:06 am

    I notice that Ella has been strangely silent on this boy bait topic.

    Linds, that’s a great tip for the blueberries – duly noted! And Court…you must bake and cook lots while your baby is baking inside…this will guarantee a daughter/son with an interest in food…and Jamie – Smitten Kitchen is back posting…hurrah!

Leave a Reply

