Skip to content

brown sugar cookies

September 17, 2009
brown sugar cookies

brown sugar cookies

I had to buy one of those little brown sugar bears to put in my brown sugar.  My old one must have expired or something because my brown sugar was hard as a ROCK.

So I went to Call the Kettle Black and bought a new one.  I also bought two wooden spoons.  This is all very exciting, I know.

Inside the brown sugar bear was a recipe for brown sugar cookies.  I’m a sucker for a full cookie jar, so my youngest and I made them.  I figure baking is a good way to teach him math skills.

I’d classify these cookies as a little bit like Snickerdoodles, but without the cinnamon.  They are soft and mild tasting and simple little cookies, like my grandma might have made.  I liked them.  They were very pleasant on my palate and my tummy.

Brown Sugar Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 cups white flour
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
sprinkling of ground ginger and white sugar for the topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat together butter and sugar until well mixed.  Add vanilla and egg and combine.  Stir in the dry ingredients.  Roll into balls and sprinkle with ground ginger and white sugar.  Bake for 12 minutes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. serena permalink
    November 11, 2009 2:07 pm

    hey really cool

Leave a Reply

