Skip to content

nectarine golden cake

September 13, 2009
nectarine golden cake

nectarine golden cake

I realize that lots of food bloggers post original, unreferenced recipes on their blogs.

I am not one of those food bloggers.

I do not have an original food recipe bone in my body, particularly when it comes to baked items.  I do, however, have a talented 13 year old daughter named Ella who digs up recipes and then proceeds to make them.  Very successfully.  And then we take a picture and I blog and Tweet about it.  I don’t even bother typing out recipe and I just provide a link because I’m a lazy-ass and also, why do that when we just used the exact same recipe?  That seems silly.

I am clearly making up my own food blogger rules as I go along.

So really, you can think of us as your friendly neighbourhood recipe testers, who will wade through pages of food magazine and cookbook recipes and bake and cook new things.  Our lively recommendations will narrow down your choices for you – so really, we are providing quite the service.

OK, this Nectarine Golden Cake recipe is from Gourmet Magazine, September 2009 issue.

And here’s how it looks.  Golden.  Crusty on top with a sprinkling of sweet sugar.  It has nectarines that sink down into the soft cake after it is baked.  The cake is really yellow because we used Omega eggs, which have crazy yellow yolks.  And the whole thing is just mind-blowingly delicious served warm with some whipping cream on the side.  Great baking once again Ella.  You rock.

Over and out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 6:11 am

    Lovely cake. I have that magazine, but skimmed it way too fast. Missed this gem of a recipe, so I’ll be going back over it. Yeah right, like when am I going to get time to sit and read a magazine?!

  2. September 14, 2009 7:54 am

    We have tested this by eating the entire thing and can confirm it is a WINNER. Super easy to make too…what better way to use up those farmers market nectarines?

Leave a Reply

