Skip to content

i went to ireland, and all i bought was a cutting board

September 13, 2009
bunbury boad

bunbury boad

So I went to the Ballymaloe Cookery School afternoon demonstration, and Rory O’Connell tells us never to use plastic cutting boards.  Then I go to Cork English Market and see these gorgeous boards.  So what could an intrepid foodie-mom do?   I had to buy this.  Even though it cost 45 Euros.  It was too gorgeous to turn down.

And yes, this is the only thing I bought in Ireland.  I did not exactly have a shopping-spree trip there.

What I love about this cutting board (and you can see from the photo above I’ve already started to beat it up) is the story behind it.  The Bunbury website offers up the story behind every single board, and here’s the tree my cutting board came from

Tree Report
Log Number 090001
The following is a summary of where the above tree or log
came from, when and why the tree came down, what action
has to be taken to replace the tree, and any other
information of interest.

The species of tree is: Beech.

The location of the tree is recorded as: This tree grew on
Kilruddery an estate in Co Wicklow, from an area known as
the Demesne. The ruins of which can be seen in the picture.

Source: Kilruddery Estate

State / Province: Wicklow

Reason Down: The tree blew down during the winter of 2008.

Date Down: Oct 10, 2008

Replacement Notes: There is plenty of natural regeneration
in this area, together with a woodland management
program.

Isn’t that great?  I think my excitement over this particular purchase makes me a big food geek.  But I’m fine with that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diana Ciez permalink
    January 20, 2012 9:48 am

    Thanks for posting. I saw this last year while I was in Ireland and have been looking for it as a wedding gift ever since. I just ordered and sent it to the bride and groom. Hope they love it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

