Skip to content

peanut butter chocolate chip cookies

September 11, 2009

All I could find on television on a Friday night was that show that features 30 minutes of brides trying on wedding dresses (?).  I’ve read the October issue of my food magazine.  I can only press refresh on Twitter so many times before my finger gets sore.  I get very anxious with nothing to do.  I start shaking my eyeballs and sawing on the armchair, a la the Big Snit.

Even though Deb of Smitten Kitchen has been wading into the mommy wars on Twitter (sniping breastfeeders and natural birthers?  Oh my), I forgive her because she’s such an awesome baker.  These cookies are soft on the inside and crunchy around the sides.  I love the sugar topping.

DSC_0242

Peanut Butter Cookies
-adapted only slightly from Smitten Kitchen

1 1/2 cups white flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup peanut butter at room temperature
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
1 tablespoon whole milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips

For sprinkling: 1 tablespoon sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the flour, the baking soda, the baking powder, and the salt. Set aside.

In a mixer, beat the butter and the peanut butter together until fluffy. Add the sugars and beat until smooth. Add the egg and mix well. Add the milk and the vanilla extract. Add the flour mixture and beat thoroughly. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Form dough into balls, and roll in a bowl of sugar.  Flatten tops with a fork.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

