Skip to content

pasta with cilantro and smoked salmon

September 8, 2009
pasta with cilantro and smoked salmon

pasta with cilantro and smoked salmon

Sometimes, I make really irrational grocery shopping decisions.  I totally lose it in the grocery store.  This is because I’m in a hurry or overwhelmed by choice or just not thinking straight because of the bright lights and crowds.  Such was the case when I picked out a MASSIVE package of lox from Costco.  And I’m the only one who eats lox in my family.

The lox languished in the freezer for a while before I transferred it to the fridge and started to eat things like lox sandwiches and poached eggs on lox.  A few days crept by, however, and I realized that I’d better eat it up, or it would go bad and make me very very sick.  Which happened to me once with lamb, but that’s a whole other story.

So I searched around on Epicurous and found this recipe.  Cilantro?  Yum.  Whipping cream?  How can you argue with that?  And smoked salmon?  Hurrah!

Sadly, I have categorized this recipe as a flop because I was the only one who liked it.  My husband said – zingy! And then proceeded to pick out all the smoked salmon and ate a lot of ciabatta bread to fill himself up.  Don’t think I didn’t notice that he didn’t eat any of the pasta.  He moved it around on his plate a lot.  I’m familiar with that technique.  My six year old didn’t want the green sauce.  And my other two kids were missing in action.

So this is a recipes for the moms.  It is spicy because of the jalapeno, but I think that’s a good thing.  It is like pasta with a cilantro pesto sauce.  And lox.  Don’t forget the lox.

Pasta with Cilantro and Smoked Salmon
-adapted from Epicurous

Rotini or other small curly pasta

3 cloves garlic
1 jalapeno, chopped
3 cups cilantro, chopped
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup whipping cream
1 lime, zested and juiced
salt and pepper

smoked salmon, sliced into strips

Fill a pasta pot with salted water and put on to boil.   Add pasta and cook.

Blend the next seven ingredients in a blender until smooth.  When pasta is done cooking, drain and add sauce.  Add the smoked salmon last and serve.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    April 22, 2010 6:18 am

    Hi Foodie Suz

    Although I have no idea what your husband or kids like to eat, if you find yourself in this situation again, I’ve made a really good linguine dish using smoked salmon and evaporated milk. I can’t remember which book it was from though………

Leave a Reply

