Skip to content

croque monsieur and chocolate caramel crunch

September 7, 2009

Tonight I served my family sandwiches and saltines.  They ate their dinner sitting in front of the television, watching a football game.

Now, lest you think – but Foodie Suz, what is happening in your house?  Things are going to hell in a handbasket.  I can only control what I make for dinner.  The football watching is out of my hands.

The sandwiches were Croque Monsieur from the Barefoot Contessa, inspired by my memory of my foodie morning in Montreal with Aimee.

croque monsieur

croque monsieur

And the saltines were version 2.0 of a David Lebovitz recipe that is evil.  Very evil.  This time I added almonds and sea salt.  The salty with the sweet is irresistable.

chocolate covered caramel crunch

chocolate covered caramel crunch

At 7 pm, I’m booting my boys off the television to watch the new season premiere of Top Chef. Let the countdown begin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2009 6:43 pm

    Oh, I remember you made those chocolate covered saltines before too. Looks so good.

    I too am watching Top Chef! So excited it’s back on 🙂

  2. September 7, 2009 6:45 pm

    I’m watching top chef too! Who is going to get cut? Unseared scallop girl? Or the dry chicken chick? Or the not hot firey chef’s dish?

Leave a Reply

