Skip to content

hello, ireland

August 16, 2009

We are off for a greatly-anticipated trip to Ireland.  I’ve never been there, so I don’t know what to expect.  This makes for grandiose anticipation, and we’ve had great fun doing some planning, from blogs such at the Kitchen Chronicles and Me and Marisa.

Mike and I are big fans of the slow travel concept of travelling.  Which basically means you park yourself in one place and get to know it really well – travelling in concentric circles from your home base.  The first week we are running about a bit because we are presenting at a conference, but the last week in Ballymaloe will be slow, and heavenly.  We will visit local farmer’s markets and go for drives and explore the nearby villages.

What I’m excited about, in no particular order:

1.  The fact that Bono turns down our bed at The Clarence and leaves a little handmade chocolate on our pillow at night.  No, really!
2. Browsing Grafton Street, where one of my most favourite movies, Once, was filmed.
3.  Pastries at the Queen of Tarts, and fish and chips at Leo Burdock’s.
4.  A visit to Cork’s famous English Market.
5. A cooking demonstration at Ballymaloe Cooking School.

If we survive the flights there (with an energetic six year old), we are off to the races!  Farewell for now.  I’m sure I’ll have copious pictures and stories to post upon our return.

May you have warm words on a cool evening, a full moon on a dark night, and a smooth road all the way to your door.  ~Irish Toast

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2009 9:30 pm

    As you know, I’ve been following you on Twitter…so of course, I’m looking forward to the posts, recipes and photos, Sue. Yum. I’ve been to Dublin ONCE and it was not enough. Jenn

  2. Rodosee permalink
    September 23, 2011 6:43 am

    Good grief! I got here mooching around, daydreaming about my Irish holiday back in 2007 on another monsoonal Indian afternoon… and while I’m reliving Ballymaloe and Cork and the Queen of Tarts through someone else’s lens, what do I find but a post from 2009 which acknowledges my old one from 2008! Such a lovely, happy-making coincidence — I literally could not believe it was my blog until I clicked the link.
    So chuffed to have been able to inspire any small part of your holiday planning, Sue, and thanks (two years late) for the shoutout 😀 (My excuse for the tardiness is that I left the Kitchen Chronicles to wilt and frost over the last two years, with professional commitments barring me from blogging)

Leave a Reply

