Skip to content

julie & julia, the movie

August 9, 2009
julie-and-julia-movie-still

look at how tall meryl streep is!

I have blogged before about having to read the book Julie and Julia twice.  I did appreciate the book a lot more the second time around, and I’m glad I gave it another go.  Maybe some food blogger ego and envy got in the way the first time?  Julie’s blog is here.  She is a solid and amusing writer, and deserves all success and happiness that has headed her way.  I’ve added her blog to my bloglines because she has fascinating accounts of the fame that has tackled her in the past few months.  I love that she’s upfront and honest about not being a chef.

Anyhow – yes, the movie!  The movie version of Julie and Julia has no need for a second read.   Ella and I saw it this afternoon, and we both loved it, even though it was surprisingly not really about food.

First, Meryl Streep is brilliant.  (If that’s not an obvious statement, I don’t know what is).    NO, REALLY.  She nails what I would imagine Julia Child was like in person.  Somehow the Nora Ephron made Meryl six feet tall in every single scene.  I don’t know if it was because they hired all short actors and extras, or if she was teetering on very high heels.  Meryl has Julia’s accent, and her quirky mannerisms.  I don’t know how she did it.

Much of the Julie & Julia book was filled with accounts of complex French recipes.  The movie veers away from being food-focused, to concentrating on two love stories.  The overarching theme of the movie is – do what you love, and the rest shall follow.  Perseverance is the key lesson.   Love helps, too.

I especially loved the scenes of Julia in Paris, at the Cordon Bleu cooking school.  The movie cuts back and forth between Julia and Julie in her Queen’s apartment.   Julie’s apartment reminded me of me in my early 20’s, without the cooking, but with the hated job and sad accommodations.  Julia’s scenes in Paris seem so exotic and exciting to me…sigh…

To all my fellow food bloggers – I also learned that only if the New York Times does a piece about our blogs, THEN we will get an answering machine full of book and movie deals!  Maybe if I say New York Times enough in this blog, their search engines will pick up on it:  New York Times, New York Times, New York Times.  A girl’s gotta try, right?

To conclude:  Julie & Julia is mandatory movie-watching for all those who read and/or write food blogs.  Really, I’m serious.  This is a good use of two hours of your time.  You might just come home and make beef bourguignon.

-Foodie Suz, amateur movie reviewer and food blogger and hack cook

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2009 8:30 pm

    Ohhh, you mean I have to read it again to like it?

  2. August 9, 2009 8:48 pm

    Yes. That’s the secret. Julie becomes very endearing by the end of the second read.

  3. August 10, 2009 8:04 am

    I liked the movie, too, and wasn’t even able to finish reading the book the first time. I’m afraid I gave it away when I had to get rid of half my books for the move so I won’t get a chance to read it a second time, darn!

  4. Sharon Willey permalink
    August 17, 2009 8:14 pm

    loved the movie..it’s gotten me into the kitchen…Martin is a happy man and better fed.

    Meryl Streep….was outstanding indeed.

    Hope Ireland is treating you all well.

Leave a Reply

