Skip to content

ina’s lasagna. again.

August 7, 2009

Many foods that do not photograph well taste really good.  Take the Barefoot Contessa’s Lasagna, for instance.  And my thumb:

lasagna

I’ve blogged about this baby before and here’s the recipe.  I think repeating dishes is a no-no in the food blogger world, but what am I going to do?  I cannot make something different every single day, or eat out somewhere different, or find a new food shop.  It is impossible!  After all, I am not a chef by professional background.  I’ve never even been paid to write about food.  I write about health care!

So here are some bits and bites from my week.

  • The grilled paninis at Leva are exceptionally good, even if they are oddly made on grilled pita.  That’s not very Italian, but that’s really ok and I forgive them because they are so yummy.  Try the portabello mushroom with mozzarella and roasted red pepper.
  • My links on this blog were getting a bit stale, so I refreshed them.  My favourite new food blog?  Food on the Food, a very tender and witty blog written by a chef and mom.  She happens to be in the midst of treatment for breast cancer, and has a beautiful funny outlook on life.  Click through for the stories…you will stay for the food.
  • I am reading David Lebovitz‘s The Sweet Life in Paris.  But I’m not done.  I lugged it all the way to Tofino and back and I’m still reading one story at a time.  So far?   I’m predisposed to be fond of David, but I really love his writing – very warm and amusing.
  • The Edmonton Folk Fest is this weekend, and I will try to take photos of the food.   When I’m not sitting in the beer tent or sliding down the hill in the mud.  Oh wait.  I did that twenty years ago.  I’m much much more mature now.  If you are looking for me this weekend, Friday night is adult night in the beer tent.  Saturday is family day on the hill.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 10:03 am

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! The highest compliment to a recipe is repeated effort! 🙂

    The sandwiches at Leva are Italian in fact, they are called piedine. Piedina is Italian flat bread!
    http://www.italianfoodforever.com/iff2008/index.php?view=article&catid=47:cbreads&id=91:piadinabread&option=com_content&Itemid=65

  2. August 8, 2009 7:08 am

    Ah grazie for the info! What do I know about Italian bread? Close to nothing… 🙂

Leave a Reply

