Skip to content

food at the works

June 25, 2009

Ah, now the summertime festival season has started in Edmonton, I present my first overpaid festival booth food.  Six bucks for four pieces of sushi on dry rice from Japanese Village – from a booth at the Works.

sushi

sad sushi

I totally should have had the butter chicken instead.  Picking festival food is an exact science in Edmonton.  Green onion cakes, panini, ice cream, elephant ears, and of course the proliferation of hot dog/hamburger/fries booths.   I think those french fry booths are breeding.

What’s your favourite summer festival food? I am going to Montreal for a retreat during the Montreal Jazz Festival.  I will do some serious festival food booth comparison then.  Edmonton v. Montreal…hmmm, who will be the winner?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    June 25, 2009 8:37 am

    And then contrast that with Portland’s ridiculous food cart scene. Pam and I could get by on food served out of the back of a truck for an entire week and never have a bad meal.

    Visit Schwartz’s in Montreal!

  2. June 25, 2009 9:03 am

    Festival food at Montreal Jazz fest isn’t very memorable, although I did enjoy a mango on a stick seasoned with chili powder and salt.

  3. June 25, 2009 10:11 am

    I hope you’ll pick my brain if your looking for sweet spots in Montreal. I may bump into you at the festival–it our second home.

    Pretty rad street food there, but the surrounding are isn’t that exciting. Head to St Denis and the Plateau for that.

    Don’t miss the crepes at the fest.

  4. June 25, 2009 3:49 pm

    The Heritage Festival, hands down. As far as I’m concerned, Heritage Days is the real taste of Edmonton.

  5. June 25, 2009 8:13 pm

    That’s sooo great Aimee. I was going to ask you about Montreal eateries, but I wasn’t sure how you felt about being a Montreal travel agent!

    I’m staying at a hotel on Rue University, and am of course just walking places. I have 24 hours of free time…and love the idea of local food at a quiet place…anywhere specific to recommend for St. Denis or the Plateau?

Leave a Reply

