Skip to content

cannelli bean salad with chilis and lemon

June 12, 2009

cannelli

When Ella and I went to Seattle in March, I had an appetizer which ranked up there in the top three things I have ever eaten in my (rather long) life.

It was the Grilled Octopus Salad from Tavolata.  The warm octopus was offset by the cold soft lightly spiced white kidney beans.  I ate it very slowly and methodically because I did not ever want it to end.  Sadly, it did.  And now I’m back in Edmonton.

I have no grilled octopus, but I did have a can of white kidney beans from the Italian Centre.  So here’s what I did…

Cannelli Bean Salad with Chilis and Lemon

1 can cannelli (white kidney) beans
1/2 red onion, sliced thin and chopped
1/2 cup fresh Italian parsley, chopped

juice and zest of one lemon
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon chopped red chilis
salt and pepper – used liberally to season

Rinse beans in a colander.  Add to serving bowl with the red onion and parsley.

In a little bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients.  Pour over beans and stir.  Let sit for at least an hour, stirring on occasion.  Serve at room temperature.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 1:27 pm

    I ate a lot of grilled octopus salad in Croatia when I was there, and it was unreal. Somehow I am super put off by the idea of making it here though, I think a lot of it has to do with distance from the sea (and therefore fresh octopus). So simple, yet so different from the kind of salads I make in Edmonton!

Trackbacks

  1. smitten kitten’s raspberry buttermilk cake « foodie suz
  2. montreal foodie tour with aimee « foodie suz
  3. foodie suz
  4. montreal foodie morning with aimee « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

