Skip to content

Winnipeg Nostalgia

June 11, 2009
fork

at the forks

I lived in Winnipeg for six years in the 1990’s.  Now before you eye roll and scoff at me, I have to tell you that Winnipeg has the best people in the entire world.  It takes a while to break into the tightly knit groups there because they are automatically suspicious of anybody who arrives there from somewhere else.  Because that just doesn’t happen. Plus, they’ve all gone to high school together and live next door to each other’s sister-in-laws, etc.  You’ve heard about six degrees of separation?  Winnipeg has about two.

I moved to Winnipeg from Edmonton and there was not one food place that I pined for from Edmonton.  Not one.  Upon leaving Winnipeg to move to Norway (long story), I began missing a lot of Winnipeg food.  Breakfasts at Stella’s.  Desserts from Baked Expectations.   VJ’s Drive In burgers.  And most of all:  BDI’s dipped maple cones.  Best consumed when walking across the pedestrian bridge to Kingsway, swatting at and running from mosquitoes the entire way.

Elizabeth Bridge, from CBC’s Food Bytes has alerted us to a website called Nostalgia Foods.  They will ship Winnipeg favourites right to your door.   No kidding.   What a concept!   This just proves how endearing Winnipeg is to those of us who once lived there.   I’ll have a cinnamon bun with nuts from Tall Grass bakery please.  Make that two…and some Wasabi sushi, too.  And gelati from Nucci’s on Corydon.  Oh and a Beaver Tail from the Forks.  See what I mean?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. terra permalink
    June 12, 2009 6:33 am

    Where did you live in Norway? I lived in Norway for a year in 1996. I’m sure we could start a discussion just about Norwegian food! When I lived in Norway I missed Canadian food that I never ever thought I would miss.

  2. June 12, 2009 6:37 am

    I lived in Bergen with my two kids…. From Norway, I remember brown cheese, sandwiches for breakfast, rice pudding, pickled herring, boiled potatoes, salmon, and candy/chocolate. Lots of candy/chocolate!

  3. June 12, 2009 7:20 am

    Loved this post! Got engaged at the Round Table (on Pembina), and my husband and I enjoyed many breakfasts at the Original Pancake House, yep – we’ve done the BDI (but he is not as nostalgic about their creamery delights), Old Fort Gary brunch after our wedding, “Sals” (always my parents’ favourite). Ever heard of Johnny’s Maples Pizza?

    And… each time we visit lunch at Prairie Ink (at McNally Robinson) is a must. We even have friends we always meet there. The carrot cake is lovely.

    If your placing orders I’ll have my Tall Grass treat without nuts please!

  4. ellahorne permalink
    June 12, 2009 4:33 pm

    in norway i remember eating lots of homemade fishsticks, brown cheese on toast with jam, and tomato soup with noodles…. i was only 5 at the time so i can hardly remember……

  5. June 12, 2009 4:48 pm

    how about winnipeg ella? remember any food from there??

Leave a Reply

