Skip to content

tortilla drumsticks and roasted potato wedges

May 20, 2009

tortilladrumsticks

While I could not create my own recipe if my life depended on it, I obviously need very specific instructions to cook or bake.   If I’ve made something a few dozen times, I might start tinkering with it, but in this way in my life I am not creative at all.  I need a recipe.

I subscribe to Jamie, Bon Appetit and Saveur magazines. And I usually pick up Gourmet and Food and Wine every month.  Both Bon Appetit and Gourmet contain a bounty of recipes every single month.  I fold over almost every single page in the magazines, thinking:  I must make this.  

So there’s no need to type out the recipes that I cooked last night.  I made the Tortilla Drumsticks exactly as is, although I don’t have a food processor, and ended up with chunky crumbs from banging the hell out of a bag of tortilla chips.  But don’t the red chips look pretty?

And I made the Roasted Potato Wedges, too, but I only had baby potatoes so they were more like little chunks of potato instead of wedges.  And I made the Cilantro-Lime Mayo, but my cilantro was all slimy in the fridge, so I had to skip that part.  (Yes, this half-ass way of doing things is common around here).

Oh, and I had a couple of tortilla wraps and some monterey jack cheese, so I made cheese quesadillas too.  And I used up some almost-bad avocados and made guacamole.  This was a high carb dinner, and I convinced my motley crew of children to eat a few organic carrots to round things out.

So dinner was done for another night.  I’m getting tired.  Can someone come look after my kids so Mike and I can go to Vegas for a weekend?  I heard they have restaurants there where people will cook, serve and clean up your meals for you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 10:53 am

    I’ve never heard of such drumsticks. Do the chips stick pretty well?
    They do look pretty!

  2. May 31, 2009 3:53 pm

    Wow, you subscribe to a lot of magazines! You can start a library there 🙂

    I too have never heard of tortilla drumsticks, I’m sure they were crunchy.

  3. June 1, 2009 4:05 pm

    I do have a lot of magazines. My excuse is that I can write them off, tax wise because I’m a self employed writer…

    Yes, the tortilla chips do stick well…the egg is like glue!

Leave a Reply

