Skip to content

jamie’s food revolution

May 12, 2009

foodrevolution

Today, I impulsively bought Jamie Oliver’s brand new cookbook – Jamie’s Food Revolution.   I saw it in Chapter’s and it was calling to me:  Foodie Suz!  Buy me!  So I did.  

I do not understand why in some places the cookbook is called Jamie’s Ministry of Food and in others it is Jamie’s Food Revolution.  Must be the difference between UK and North American marketing.  

Jamie creates beautiful cookbooks, and this one is no exception.  It is chock full of stunning photos.  Each recipe has both prep and finish photographs arranged in a collage, and each chapter has very retro photos, complete with an essay about each topic:  Easy curries, twenty minute meals (what is he, Rachel Ray?), comforting stews, sweet things.  There are random photos of real live people talking about cooking.  The theme is simple, delicious, affordable meals, and the recipes run the gamut of:  braised bacon cabbage, fish pie, pot-roast meatloaf, chicken and leek strogonoff, and banana tarte tatin.

INTRIGUING, non?

I also received the recent copy of Jamie Magazine, which despite the excessive Jamie Advertising, I’m totally digging.  (I was born in the 60’s, so I’m allowed to use that term).  The paper stock is heavy and luxurious, and the photos are something to behold.  I haven’t tried any recipes…they seem a bit out of reach to me…and very UK-based, so I get confused about ingredients and weights and silly things like that.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 7:45 pm

    He is surprisingly active on twitter. I didn’t realize he would post so much when I followed him.

    I’ve really started to enjoy his personality and he is now one of my favorites. I didn’t know about this cookbook, so thanks for the blog!

  2. May 12, 2009 8:23 pm

    Ministry of Food was a tv show, named after the old WWII government Ministry of Food, that he did in the UK. It hasn’t been broadcasted here, so that’s probably why they changed the name. He also set up Ministry of Food Centres where people could go to learn about cooking and food. Bascially, it’s an extension of his School Dinners thing.

    I wonder if his new US show is going to use this revised name. That could explain it also….

  3. May 13, 2009 5:52 am

    Wow, bruleeblog, you are very well versed on all things Jamie – thanks for that.

    That Jamie just does not stop producing. In his magazine, he advertises all his cookware and food products, and apparently he offers home parties (a la Tupperware parties).

  4. May 13, 2009 8:25 am

    I read way, way too much – including the Guardian newspaper website and the BBC website. I would go on Jeopardy or something, but the facts I seem to know aren’t necessarily the kind of things you can win money for, darn it.

  5. May 14, 2009 5:49 am

    Gee, does he host the parties too? Does the guy ever sleep?

  6. May 14, 2009 6:12 am

    Ha, yes, he even does home parties overseas! With two days’ notice, he will show up at your house, wearing an apron and hauling a suitcase full of his pots and pans.

    Too funny.

  7. nanu permalink
    May 14, 2009 11:37 am

    I’ve tried a couple of recipes from his cookbook when I came back the UK. Easy and tasty. Thankfully, I live with a hot Brit who can do some translation for me. 😉

    I saw that the cookbook is also going to be in Costco, around this time too, I think.

  8. July 5, 2009 1:27 pm

    Hi, I’m from Germany an saw on the amazon.uk website, that you can get the “new” Jamies Food revolution in october. Luckily I read on your blog, that it is simular to Food ministry, which I’ve got. I hate it when you get the same book under different names. Did you know, that there will be a new Jamie by September, 3rd calles Jamies America. I hope it will be as good as all the others.
    Is there realy a difference between american and english recipes, f.e. temeratures and weights or ingredients? I allways wait for the german translation, so I have no trouble at all.

Leave a Reply

