Skip to content

tribute to talladega nights

April 22, 2009

talladega-nights-resized-450

 

To show you that even food bloggers are human, I ate at Applebee’s tonight.

And it was not as bad as I thought it would be.  It was even better than previous shameful experiences I’ve had at:  Red Robin, Kelsey’s, Chili’s, Montana Cookhouse and Saloon, Boston Pizza and Moxie’s.  

At Applebee’s, the waitress was cheerful, the restaurant was clean, and the food was ok.  Although my chicken breast sandwich was dry, the fries were crispy.  I mean, what do I expect?  I was actually expecting much worse.  Wednesday night was free kids’ meal night, so we saved $6 on our six year old’s meal.  

And we decided that our meal was dedicated to Talladega Nights, because Ricky Bobby’s dad got thrown out of an Applebee’s restaurant in the movie.  

And so dear local readers:  where in Edmonton can you go for a young child-friendly dinner that is not a chain and serves fare like burgers and fries?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 8:28 pm

    It’s on my to do list so I don’t have personal experience, but what about the Motoraunt?

  2. April 23, 2009 8:48 am

    Maybe Blue Plate Diner. They have that small kids’ section with 5 or 6 selections at the bottom of all their menus.

  3. April 23, 2009 11:54 am

    Good question. I don’t have kids, so that’s something I’ve never paid much attention to. I suppose Route 99 would do, although the food tends to be really hit and miss.

    There’s another place that’s right on the tip of my brain, but the name isn’t coming to me. They have a small kids’ menu with burgers, fries, and mac & cheese. Good food on the “adult” menu, too. I’ll try to remember and come back with the name for you.

  4. onlyhereforthefood permalink
    April 23, 2009 6:31 pm

    Urban Diner would be my pick – bright, cheery decor and a very child-friendly menu.

  5. April 24, 2009 9:45 pm

    Personally, I believe nearly every restaurant can be child friendly. Perhaps not the high-end ones (the other diners might not appreciate the giggles or the tantrums. But top of mind from my days in Edmonton… Highlevel Diner, Sicilian Past Kitchen, Cafe Select, Maurya Palace (my kid loves Channa Masala)… I should ask my brother, they take their kids out all the time.

  6. April 24, 2009 9:46 pm

    Oh, thought of two more. Upper Crust Cafe and Cafe De Ville for brunch.

Leave a Reply

