Skip to content

steak fajitas

April 21, 2009

fajitas

I saw a recipe on a food blog for skirt steak that looked really tasty.  So I went to the grocery store and bought a package of steak to feed about 3 people and it was $12.  Then I could not find the food blog.  I searched all the blogs on my Bloglines and came up empty.  I hate it when that happens.  I should just print off recipes I have a hankering for right when I stumble upon them.  There has to be a better process for this.

Anyhow, Epicurous always saves the day.  I found a recipe for Skirt Steak Fajitas that fit the bill.  I only marinated the meat for 4 hours, and it was still tender and tasty.  A caution – just broil it for 3 minutes so the meat is medium-rare.  Any more time and you’ll need a saw to cut through the meat.

Skirt Steak Fajitas
-taken directly from Epicurous

2 skirt steaks (about 1 1/2 pounds each)
1/2 cup fresh lime juice (about 4 limes)
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 teaspoons minced jalapeño pepper
2 teaspoons finely minced garlic
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon ground cumin
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Cut the steak crosswise into 2 to 4 pieces and place in a bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients; pour over the steak, turning it to coat well. Marinate overnight (or as long as you have), covered, in the refrigerator, turning once or twice. Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before cooking.

Preheat the broiler to low. Remove the steak from the marinade, scrape off any bits and place on a broiling pan. Broil 4 inches from heat source for 3 minutes per side for medium-rare meat. Let rest 10 to 15 minutes. Slice the meat thinly, about 1/4 inches thick. 

Serve with tortilla wraps, and shredded Monterey Jack cheese, sliced avocado, sliced red onion, salsa and sour cream.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 6:29 pm

    I bookmark any recipe I’m interested in and use Xmarks to sync work and home.

  2. April 21, 2009 7:50 pm

    I email myself the recipe and stick it in a recipe folder. That way I can do a keyword search. 🙂

  3. April 22, 2009 8:20 am

    I found your blog thru Liane Faulder’s blog and love it. Have you thought of putting a subscription button on your blog?

  4. April 22, 2009 8:52 am

    Thanks, Tracey – that’s awfully nice.

    OK, I put an RSS feed button on the blog, but I don’t think that’s a subscription button? Geez…I’m out of my league – any wordpress users out there? Can you help me out?

  5. April 22, 2009 8:42 pm

    You’re using the ocean mist theme, right? When I test that theme with my blog, there’s a section like your Contact Me that says Subscriptions, and underneath it automatically lists the RSS links.

  6. April 22, 2009 8:45 pm

    Hmmm, I dunno, there is no ‘subscription’ in my widgets.

    I am afraid I am a bit hopeless. I blame my belly full of Applebee’s food.

  7. April 22, 2009 9:55 pm

    lol

    It’s not a widget; check under Appearance, then under Themes. I suspect when you filled in your info you changed some of the standard settings.

    If all else fails, add a link widget and use the RSS url as your link (https://foodiesuz.wordpress.com/). What you’ve got now is basically broadcasting a list of your most recent posts.

  8. April 23, 2009 6:46 am

    OK, i can totally calm down and stop hyperventilating.

    There IS an RSS feed automatically on my site…it is just a matter of going to a feed reader and it will be picked up. I guess this is a wordpress thing. I have had a very sophisticated IT guy test this for me.

    All is well.

  9. April 23, 2009 6:50 am

    It does work in bloglines, but I’ll have a look at the suggestion to modify the Theme.

    thx, Mike

Leave a Reply

