Skip to content

garlic chicken cacciatore

April 8, 2009

chickencacciatoreCacciatore is hard to spell.  But don’t let that deter you from making this recipe.  It is a good one.

For the second night in a row, I made an actual real dinner.  This time I did not even burn it, like I did last night with the fish.

I can tell I’m becoming a bit more confident when I don’t follow a specific recipe.  This one is a mash up of a bunch of different cacciatore recipes.  I just picked and chose the parts I liked.  I think this is one of my first un-referenced recipes.  I’m always amazed at other sites that seem to always have original recipes on it – there’s no adapted from associated with it.  Is there really such thing as an original recipe?  

Serious Eats wades into the discussion.   Because I am a writer by profession, I get nervous borrowing other people’s recipes without referencing them.  I wouldn’t want someone to do that with my words…nor ‘my’ recipes.  (Of which I officially have one).  Let’s face it – I’m a semi-surburban mom here just trying to feed her family.   I’m no chef or cookbook writer.

That being said, folks – this one has more than three ingredients changed, so I’m going to stick my neck out and leave it reference-less!    Oh yeah, it is really good – crispy chicken skin, tender inside, nicely spiced, with a light kicky tomato sauce.  Serve with a side of spaghetti.

Garlic Chicken Cacciatore

8 chicken thighs, skin on, bone in
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 Tablespoon rosemary, finely chopped 
1 Tablespoon basil, finely chopped 
2 slices bacon, chopped
6 garlic cloves, chopped
1 teaspoon fennel seeds, mashed
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried red pepper
1 Tablespoon anchovy paste
1 big can of diced tomatoes
1/4 cup tomato paste
1/4 red wine
1 Tablespoon balsamic vinegar 

Heat oil with rosemary and basil in a large fry pan.  Salt and pepper the chicken, and fry each side of the chicken for five minutes each.  Transfer to a dutch oven.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  

Cook bacon until almost crispy. Add fennel, anchovy paste, garlic, oregano and chili pepper to bacon fat. Cook for one minute, then add the tomatoes, paste, wine and vinegar.  Bring sauce to a boil.  Pour on top of chicken in dutch oven and cook in the oven for 30 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

