Skip to content

have you seen the muffin man?

April 1, 2009

raspberrymuffins

Raspberry muffins with Cheese Factory Smoked Gouda cheese

I often have meetings for my unpaid work world at my house…and I make chai or coffee and pick up baking to serve.  Us volunteers need special treats, since we don’t get paid.   We get paid in treats instead.

Yesterday, I tried to buy butter squares at Zenari’s.  But the one I sampled was hard as a rock.  And stale. I almost broke my tooth on it, and actually spit my bite out into a napkin.  It was gross.

So I was forced to bake.  The Barefoot Contessa (also known to those of us who feel like we know her as Ina) is really reliable with her recipes.  She’s like my mom or something – she’s got the goods that are no-fail.  I had a bag of frozen raspberries leftover from Ella’s cake.  I pretended I just picked them off the raspberry bush in our back alley and made Ina’s Blueberry Muffins.  With raspberries.

One of the participants in my meeting said these were the best muffins she had ever eaten.  That’s high praise  – so this recipe is for you, Gayle:

Raspberry Coffee Cake Muffins
-adapted from the Barefoot Contessa’s Family Style cookbook 

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups white sugar
3 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup sour cream
1/4 cup mascarpone cheese
1/4 cup whipping cream
2 1/2 cups white flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
zest of one lemon
1 cup frozen raspberries
1/4 cup white sugar with 2 Tablespoons cinnamon, for topping 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Put muffin liners in muffin tins.

Beat the butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add vanilla, eggs, sour cream, mascarpone cheese and whipping cream.

In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and lemon zest.  Gently fold dry ingredients into wet ones until combined.  Spoon a healthy spoonful of batter into each muffin pan. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

Bake about 30 minutes until lightly brown on top.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

