Skip to content

cake. help. required.

March 21, 2009

This is the time of year that strikes fear in every mother’s heart:  a child’s birthday is coming up.  

You’d think after organizing and executing childrens’ birthday parties for 15 years, I’d be an old pro at it.  Ten years ago, you’d see me frantically arranging themed birthdays with a ridiculously long invite list, screaming kids and intricately planned activities.  No more.

My teenage son doesn’t even have a semblance of a party anymore.  I can give him a handful of cash and send him to Galaxyland with his friends.  My daughter, age 12, does either sleepovers with pizza and movies, or Lazer Tag.  But I have an almost six year old son, too, who is still immersed in the complex birthday party world.  I think I’ve finally figured out that simpler is better.  He wants to go bowling.  So we are going bowling.  But then there’s the issue of the cake.

Last year I ordered from a cake place, which shall remain unnamed.  The cake looked fabulous:

cake2

This year, I sent them my order with a good week’s notice.  Here’s what they sent me back:

Thanks for the email.  We are all booked up for special  orders next week and cannot fit in another order.  So sorry.  Typically, one week’s notice is good enough, but often we do book up a couple weeks in advance.  Hopefully we can help you out next time. 

I’m like WTF?  I thought we were in a recession!  People are still ordering cakes?  

Now I’m in a panic.  The hand wringing has begun.  No, I haven’t learned my lesson in 15 years of birthday parties.  The young lad wants a ‘Bolt’ cake.  I know the food at the bowling place will be horrid, so I want the cake to be GOOD.  I can get a GOOD cake and put a Bolt figurine on top of it – voila – a Bolt cake.

But, dear readers, any suggestions for a bakery to buy said cake?  With less than a week’s notice?  I have one recommendation so far, from a mom who detected the panic in my voice – Bee Bell Bakery’s Half and Half cake.  Any other suggestions?  

Signed,
A Desperate Mother

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2009 9:07 am

    Cake from Garden Bakery or Hong Kong Bakery. Fruit and whipped cream. If you want a sample they sell them by the slice as well. Order ahead for specific size and writing/decoration, otherwise you can sometimes pick them up from the glass counter like you do at Dairy Queen if they have any leftover cakes.

    And that’s another option too… kids love ice cream cakes. Dairy Queen and Marble Slab.

  2. March 21, 2009 10:07 am

    Oh dear. I was going to make the exact same suggestions as you brulee. Garden is a great stand by, and not only have I enjoyed the cakes, but picked them up for work celebrations to great reviews.

    DQ Ice Cream cake is still my favorite fall back and I buy one every year for memories and ice creamy goodness. Plus they are bound to have some ‘bolt’ style toppings. They book is quite big.

    Come to think of it, I was quite impressed with a custom cake picked up from Sobey’s last year. We only need a few days heads up, they bake the cake fresh, and they can do a lot of designs. We did a farm scene and it had a barn/cow/fence, and the cake top was colorful.

    Looking forward to hearing what you end up with.

  3. March 21, 2009 12:45 pm

    We got a cake from La Favorite this past Christmas… I only gave them four days notice and they did a great job.

    Also, the cakes from the Italian Bakery on 97th and the ones from the Italian Centre are great.

  4. March 21, 2009 7:20 pm

    Oh dear! That’s too bad…. I don’t live in town, but ALWAYS, ALWAYS go to the Italian centre…I would even put candles in one of their sandwiches… but kids might like that so much. They do have pretty good desserts – so I’d go with what Marianne and Zed say. Bonne fete!

  5. Bellavino permalink
    March 23, 2009 6:36 am

    Hmmmm – what about utilizing one of the Cupcake shops popping up all over the city. I have personally never special ordered from any of them but maybe you could see if they would customized the icing in bolt colors??

Leave a Reply

