Skip to content

blue ribbon cooking class

March 13, 2009

blueribbonviewsmallellastirsmall

 

 

 

 

 

 

The reason we chose Seattle to go on our trip is because I used the magic Google and typed in:  kids’ cooking classes.  Up popped Blue Ribbon Cooking, offering a parent-kid class on March 8th.  That’s exactly what I wanted – to head somewhere without snow – coupled with a direct flight, and the lure of Pike Market, we were sold on Seattle.

I have never taken a cooking class before.  The closest I have is home ec classes in junior high.  And believe me, that was a very long time ago.

The setting for Blue Ribbon is gorgeous – in the Eastlake neighbourhood, right on Lake Union.  The cab driver told us the houseboat from Sleepless in Seattle was on the other side of the lake.  We were warmly greeted by our host Bryce, put on our aprons, and were ushered into the huge professional gleaming kitchen.  Right then, Ella and I decided to pretend we were on Top Chef.

There were 24 students in total – a combination of entire families, moms and kids, dads and kids, ranging in age from 8 to late teens.  The class was led by Chef Julia and her assistant (whose name escapes me, but it said ‘Ingrid’ on her chef’s whites), and was hands on.  Everybody made homemade pasta and then we split up and took a menu item.  Ella and I held back volunteering so we could do Ella’s favourite – dessert.  We made the liquid chocolate cake.  

I’ve never made homemade pasta.  I’ve been frankly terrified of it.  People say it is simple to make pasta.  I’ve never believed them.  Until now.  

It was easy – to knead the dough, let it rest, roll it out, and then cut it with pasta wheels.  Voila!  I’m happy to cross this off my things to do before I die list…

The entire kitchen was controlled chaos. The blender was whirring and people were chatting and taking pictures and there was a mess everywhere – a comfortable kitchen scene.  The chefs wandered about, patiently helping various stations.  Ella did a crackerjack job of making the batter for the cakes – I made a mess of the ramekins and shyed away from making the caramel sauce, which I’ve only ever burned.   It is cool to see the kids so excited to be in the kitchen – a domain where usually the parents rule.  

We got this weird celebrity status because we were from Canada, which has never happened – Edmonton is hardly exotic, so that was a bit of a hoot.  We shared the whole meal (pesto chicken, carrots, peas in tomato cups, caesar salad, two kinds of pasta and our chocolate cake and creme brulee) with a table of dads and daughters and talked housing prices and the job market in Seattle.  Food really is more than just eating – breaking bread with other families is deeply satisfying.  

I know for a fact that I embarrassed Ella by talking too much.  But I also know that she had fun, even if her mom is mortifying.

mealsmallchocolatelavasmall2

pastapotsmallblueribbonkitchensmall1

Blue Ribbon Cooking
2501 Fairview Ave. E
Seattle, WA 98102
206-328-2442

4 Comments leave one →
  1. clw1 permalink
    March 13, 2009 10:05 pm

    wow! What a great opportunity – good googling! And the food looks delicious, the photo of the Liquid Chocoalte Cake is mouth-watering!

    We’re off to Seattle tomorrow, too bad we’re only going for the day to visit a bicycle expo.

  2. March 15, 2009 1:11 pm

    I can totally see doing something like this when my children grow older. How fun. Glad you had a great trip in Seattle. I love the west coast.

Trackbacks

  1. ella and her apron « foodie suz
  2. post red deer snickerdoodles « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

