Skip to content

foodies read books

March 12, 2009

ellareadingsmallEven I cannot eat all the time, even on a Food Chick Weekend.  In between eating, Ella and I watched movies (Bride Wars, Yes Man and Confessions of a Shopoholic – the latter surprisingly good) and read books.  

I totally consumed A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg.  I bought it because it is partially set in Seattle, and I love Molly’s blog Orangette.  Molly writes memoir essays before every recipe.  For it is true – every recipe does have a story associated with it, doesn’t it?

This is a kind and gentle book.  Hidden in a pastry recipe are the words, don’t worry, when rolling out the dough to calm those of us who do worry when confronted with a pastry recipe.    I love how she speaks of things oozing – from chocolate to pie fillings.  Her food descriptors are plain delicious.  

Molly’s stories are all about love.  The love for her family, her new husband and for food.  I’m flabbergasted that every single recipe I come across, I think – I would totally make that.  I’d have marked up every single recipe in the book with post-it notes, but what’s the point?  I’d like to just cook and bake the entire book.

I don’t know if it is Molly’s stories that warmed me up to the recipes, or if they are just my kind of recipes.  No matter.  Fresh ginger cake with caramelized pears, butternut soup with pear, cider and vanilla bean, little corn cakes with bacon, tomato and avocado.  Yum.

I looked for lovely Molly in Seattle, with her long red hair.  Alas, she was off to the east coast to embark on a book tour.  I’m rooting for her up here in Canada.  Her blog showed her love, and showed her there was a book in her waiting to be written.   What a precious gift to the world.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 8:47 am

    That’s so great to hear! I am also in love with Orangette so I’m happy the book lives up to the blog.

Trackbacks

  1. cooking and screaming « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

