Skip to content

seattle bound

March 4, 2009

ahomemadelifeMy daughter Ella and I are heading out on our annual Chick Weekend.  We go somewhere different every year.  Last year we went to Winnipeg.  (Don’t laugh.  Ella was born there and we heart Winnipeg).  

This year we are going to Seattle.  We’ve never been there before, and our itinerary is hinged on a cooking class at Blue Ribbon Cooking.  And we are going on a food tour of Pike Market.  And we have reservations at Cafe Campane.  And we are going on a hike to find Salumi.  I’m pretty excited.  I’m actually very excited.

Ella is almost 13, and she’s great company.  I’m bringing along Molly Wizenburg’s book A Homemade Life – part of which is set in Seattle –  to help inspire us.  It is really a foodie Chick Weekend, and I’m taking along my favourite chick.

Do you have any Seattle travel/eating suggestions?  If so, please leave in the comments.   Otherwise, we will catch you on the rebound, folks…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Renate permalink
    March 4, 2009 8:33 pm

    I used to live in Seattle, and while I haven’t been there in a number of years, I recall a delightful place called the Alki Bakery that I would like to recommend. There may be more than one location now (I just googled it and found 3 listings), but out of sentimentality, I would go to the original one on Alki Beach in West Seattle. It’s a short (but beautiful) ten minute drive from downtown to this area and the view of the Seattle skyline across the water is very nice. While they prepare very savory foods all day, my recommendation would be to go there for breakfast.

  2. March 4, 2009 8:39 pm

    Yeah, the whole point of Seattle is the food as far as I’m concerned.

    Pike Place Market is huge. Some of my favourites there are Le Panier (for the meringues) and Pike Place Bakery (for the divinitys). There are dozens of great spots in the market though – cheese places, bakeries, the flying fish, lots of produce, Piroshky Piroshky, samples. You’ll need hours and multiple trips.

    Our favourite restaurant in Seattle is Tavolata (http://www.tavolata.com). It’s not far from the market and serves the best gnocchi I’ve ever had, along with delicious house made buffalo mozzarella. Tavolata has two sister restaurants – Union and How To Cook A Wolf; we haven’t tried either.

    All of the Tom Douglas (http://www.tomdouglas.com) restaurants we’ve tried – Lola, Palace Kitchen, and Serious Pie – were wonderful. Palace Kitchen is a must to have the famous Dahlia Triple Coconut Cream Pie. It’s incredible.

    Other restaurants worth visiting are Le Pichet (http://lepichetseattle.com/page.html), Elysian (http://www.elysianbrewing.com/) & Quinn’s (http://quinnspubseattle.com/). The latter two are on Capitol Hill and are both pubs at night, not sure about the day though. Quinn’s is the better and more interesting of the two.

    Salumi is off the beaten path, but so worth it. The sandwiches are huge, and the wait will be long but fun. They keep odd hours, so check before you go.

    Also, Top Pot Doughnuts (http://www.toppotdoughnuts.com/) – who now supplies Starbucks – is worth a visit.

  3. March 4, 2009 10:55 pm

    I’ve always wanted to see the troll under the bridge.
    http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/2236

    I heard the Experience Music Project is a lot of fun.

    I think what you’ve already got planned are great ideas too!

  4. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    March 4, 2009 11:31 pm

    Enjoy yourselves my Dears. xx

  5. Coralee permalink
    March 5, 2009 7:02 pm

    I hope you and your daughter have a wonderful time in Seattle this weekend. The annual trips you take must be so memorable, I hope you will always be close.
    My mom and I have been to Seattle on a Mom and Daughter trip twice and loved it. We are foodies too and found a wonderful french cafe for breakfast by Pike Place Market as well as a trendy restaurant called Crow that was creative and cool but away from downtown a bit. We loved hanging out in St. Anne as well, there’s an independent cinema and some great little restaurants there as well including Thai, Indian, and Italian.
    My mom and I are planning a trip to Italy soon, I can’t wait. There is nothing as precious in life as a great realationship with your mother. I don’t have any children yet but reading this post makes me want to have a little girl soon….

  6. March 6, 2009 3:08 pm

    Fremont is where you’ll find the troll under the bridge — and a ton of cool shops and cafes. You can’t go wrong with Pike Place. If you have time, go up the hill to Capitol Hill/Broadway. I was born/bred near Seattle, but now live in Edmonton. Enjoy your visit! 😀

  7. March 6, 2009 7:46 pm

    I have to second the Experience Music Project if you are into that sort of thing. The amount of information and material there is splendid. Plus you can do the audio tour, getting all the information you want, at your own pace!

    Lot’s of great food mentions, so I hope it’s enjoyable. What a great way to bond.

  8. March 7, 2009 9:02 pm

    I love eating in Seattle! One of my favourite’s is Bizarro. Simple food, and it’s all good. The lasagne is very good.

  9. March 7, 2009 9:44 pm

    Not well versed, just know the market was fantastic. Insightful, I know.

Leave a Reply

