Skip to content

cooking and baking disasters

March 2, 2009

To be honest, the food blogs with near-perfect photos and never-fail recipes make me very nervous.  About 80% of what I cook or bakes turns out.  Of that, I would only put a quarter on what I term ‘food rotation’.  That means something I would cook or bake again.

I have a messy house.  The green paint is slowly chipping off our house outside.  Our sidewalk is never ever shoveled down to the pavement.  In the summer we have dandelions in our yard, much to the chagrin of our neighbours.  Our large dog will bark at you if you go down our alley.  There are cats climbing all over keyboards and hanging off curtains.  And don’t get me started on the three kids, ranging in age from 5 to 15.  One of them must be collecting various bowls and plates in his room for when he moves out.  Another one doesn’t understand the terms hanger, clothes closet or laundry basket.  And yet another one throws his cup across the room like a baseball when he’s done drinking the contents.

So if I have all these warts in my home, I’m going to have them cooking.  And even more so with the exact science of baking.  But I think the key is that I keep trying.  I keep plugging along, hoping this will be the next hot dish in our house.  Hoping that the kids will all eat it simultaneously with happy smiles on their faces.  One day it will happen.  I will not give up hope.

This is why food blogs like Crummb comfort me so much.   Watch the blogger attempt baking.  And fail.  Again and again.  But she picks herself back up and keeps chugging along.

Any warts and all food blogs you care to share?  Please leave the links in the comments.  

Even better, what’s a recent food disaster that befell you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 10:57 pm

    If you’ve read my Christmas cookie posts, I’d definitely have to say the worst was the diabetic shortbread.
    http://bruleeblog.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/sugar-free-shortbread/

Leave a Reply

