Skip to content

Spicy chickpea and spinach curry

February 28, 2009

I’ve been throwing dinners together this week, and this is why:

iamcuteDon’t ask me how a 1 kilo, 3 month old SPCA rescue kitten named Beau can take up so much time, but somehow he does.  He’s a little baby, cute as all heck, and as big as Isaac’s foot.  

An old standby for dinner is chicken curry.  Chicken breasts cut up, browned, and then mixed with Patak’s butter chicken paste, simmered in cream and served with chopped cilantro.  Totally cheating, but fast and good.  There is a dizzying selection of pre-made curry products in the grocery store – curry meals in a box even…but this is a semi-real substitution for the real thing.

Last night I was eyeing a can of chickpeas in the cupboard, and so I made this, too. 

 

 

 

Spicy Chickpea and Spinach Curry

-adapted from Epicurous 

1 can chickpeas, drained
1/2 bag spinach leaves
1 – 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes
1/4 cup cream
2 teaspoons ground coriander
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon garam masala
1/2 teaspoon ground tumeric
2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 Tablespoons chopped cilantro 

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Combine all ingredients except for cilantro in a shallow Dutch oven.  Simmer on stove for 15 minutes.  Transfer to oven and bake for another 15 minutes.  Garnish with cilantro.

chickpeacurry

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 10:54 am

    Oh my word. I want to scoop him up and carry him around in my front pocket. He looks as little as a chickpea!

    I have the same problem, my cat is constantly underfoot too.

  2. March 1, 2009 10:42 am

    Adorable kitten!!! I can see how he would steal away your time.

  3. March 1, 2009 6:37 pm

    Suz –

    I’ll be the first to comment on the food and not the cat! Thanks for this recipe; I made it this afternoon for lunch. It was absolutely delicious, not to mention quick and easy. I’ll definitely be making this again.

    Jamie

Leave a Reply

