Skip to content

bosch kitchen centre

February 24, 2009

bosch1Bosch Kitchen Centre, where have you been all my life?  My friend Karen told me about this place on Saturday night.  On Monday morning, at 0910, I was driving around 51 Avenue rather lost in an industrial area before I finally found the place.  It is on a strip mall on the north side of 51 Avenue, just west of the Police Station, by the exotic bird shop.  I’ve probably driven past it a thousand times on the way to the South Soccer Centre, and never noticed it.  I thought Bosch was all about large appliances.  I thought wrong.  

For those who like to cook, this place is for you.  It stocks all the high end supplies, pots, accessories, etc for home chefs, without the high end prices.  Check out this display of on-sale Le Creuset – they have every colour and model that you could ever think of.

But the fun doesn’t stop there, folks!  In the back, there is this myriad of actual food products – many in bulk and therefore cheap.  There is authentic Mexican vanilla, bags of any kind of spice you can think of, cornmeal, gluten-free ingredients, etc, etc.  You will just have to go see for yourself.

The young ladies at the front are friendly and helpful, but also low-pressure.  I walked out of there with some vanilla, oven mitts, cheesecloth and kitchen string.  And also some hair cutting scissors (see, they have EVERYTHING).  And yes, I get very excited about this kind of stuff.

After you leave, you can turn right on 99 street and pick up a cappuccino at Transcend Coffee.  Although Leva is still my favourite sit-down coffee house, Transcend does make a mean cup of joe.  It is best served in a take-away cup.  And don’t worry about the serious service in there.  I’ve adjusted my expectations and figured out these guys are dead-serious about their coffee.  It is not a local-cafe friendly style place like Leva.  And that’s ok.  

transcendcoffee

Bosch Kitchen Centre
9766 51 Avenue
Edmonton
780.437.3134
 

Transcend Coffee
9869 – 62 Avenue 
Edmonton
780.430.9198

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2009 11:13 am

    I love the Bosch Kitchen Centre. They offer very inexpensive cooking classes too that focus on healthy cooking, and are great for people with special dietary needs. I buy saffron there for pennies compared to what it costs as the supermarket.

  2. February 24, 2009 1:12 pm

    I work really close to the Bosch Kitchen Centre, and have driven past it many times going up 51 to grab lunch somewhere on that strip. I’ve never even noticed the sign, let alone gone inside. I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

