Skip to content

max’s edmonton food basket

February 11, 2009

Just a few months ago, I was asking around – where is that column that appears in the Edmonton Examiner – you know, the one where the guy goes to Superstore, Save-On, Sobey’s and Safeway’s and provides a contrast in the prices?  Where did he go?

(My friend Carmen knows exactly who I am talking about.  She is my Queen of Consumer information and followed this column closely).

Max Satanove’s column was called Max’s Edmonton Food Basket, and he shut it down only two years ago, when he was ninety years old.  He stopped writing his column only when he stopped driving.  When he was ninety.  Pretty amazing, huh?

Mr. Satanonve passed away on January 27.  An article in the Edmonton Journal about his life is here.  He was 92 years old. 

I think he provided a really valuable service for us consumers.  From his column, I found out what I only suspected:  that Superstore was cheapest, and Save-on and Safeways took turns being the most expensive.  This was crucial information for us grocery shoppers, especially those of us whose grocery bills are in the 4-digit category.

Bravo to Mr. Satanove for taking the time and initiative to collect and collate this information – he really was a grassroots consumer-advocate.  He will be missed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2009 8:05 pm

    I was wondering the same thing the other day while I had the grocery flyers spread out to compare. Here I was thinking, I could have sworn there used to a gentleman that did this exact thing.

    Thanks for the information. He did a great job.

  2. clw1 permalink
    February 12, 2009 8:43 pm

    Yes, tis true – I used to always look for Max’s column. He was a thrifty shopper long before it was cool again. It was always interesting to see the price discrepancies between stores…. sometimes as much as double the cost.

    I remember being home (and frazzled) with 2 children under the age of 3, looking at his columns and totals and silently thanking the gentleman who spent his time and energy tracking down and comparing prices.

    I always appreciated his time and effort in finding the good deals! Thanks for the update.

Trackbacks

  1. Only Here for the Food » Blog Archive » Food Notes for February 17, 2009

Leave a Reply

