Skip to content

classic carrot cake with vanilla cream cheese frosting

February 11, 2009

Here is yet another recipe from the new Fine Cooking magazine:  Classic Carrot Cake with Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting.  I baked the cakes and Ella made the frosting.

carrot-cake2Now, here is the recipe.  It is a long one.  I have to say I’m like WHOA THIS IS SOME CRAZY TALK when I read it needed 1.5 cups of butter and 4 cups of icing sugar AND a block of cream cheese for the icing.  Carrot cake is about the play of the almost savoury cake with the sweet icing, so what the heck.  I also made one substitution – I subbed toasted walnuts for toasted pecans.

I can tell this is a supremely decadent dessert by the ingredients.  So why, Fine Cooking, do you have to ruin it for me by publishing the calorie count of this lovely cake?  And why oh why did I read the calorie count because finding out a piece of this baby was half my day’s calories…well, this wrecked it for me.   I know why they give nutritional information and information is always a good thing.  But next time remind me not to read it – ignorance is bliss.

I had only a sliver of the cake.  The cake was dense, and more brown sugary than carroty and the icing is out of this world yummy.  But govern yourselves accordingly, folks – this is one mother of a cake.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2009 3:02 pm

    it was rather tasty, but inserting nuts in a perfectly good baked item is simply WRONG.

  2. February 11, 2009 3:54 pm

    See what I have to put up with here, folks? Anti-nuts, anti-mushrooms, anti-‘weird’ food, anti-crab/lobster, anti-thai food, anti-sweet potato, anti-couscous.

    I could go on and on.

    Thanks to Code Technology’s mother, who shaped his eating habits back in the 70’s.

  3. February 12, 2009 3:57 pm

    nuts in baking is akin to adding gravel to pancakes…

    not. necessary. ever.

Leave a Reply

