Skip to content

man in obama shirt and risotto

February 1, 2009

risottoA man wearing an Obama shirt is holding a pot full of glowing goat cheese risotto in my living room.

Our dinner tonight was exceedingly unphotogenic.  How can something that looks so unflattering taste so good?  Clearly I’m no food stylist.

This risotto comes from Jamie Oliver’s basic risotto recipe.  After the risotto was done, I grated 1/4 cup Parmesan in it, one minced garlic clove, the juice of 1/2 a lemon, 1/4 cup butter, salt and pepper.  Then I folded in about half a cup of crumbled goat cheese.   It was creamy and smooth and filled my tummy in a most satisfying way.

I also made sauteed spinach which I think I love because I’m anemic and my body must crave it.  Either that or I’m Popeye the Sailor Man.

Heat some olive oil in a pan, add a minced garlic, and saute fresh spinach until wilted.

And for meat?  We had organic skinless boneless chicken thighs that I picked up at Save-On.  I rarely make up recipes, but this time I did.  It turned out like chicken cutlets, and was moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside.  Not bad for a Saturday dinner.

Oven-Fried Chicken Thighs

4 boneless skinless chicken thighs
1 egg
1/4 cup whipping cream
1/4 cup grainy mustard
salt and pepper
1 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup cornmeal

Preheat oven to 425.  Coat a baking sheet with olive oil.

Combine egg, whipping cream and mustard in a bowl.  Put salt and pepper, bread crumbs and cornmeal in a big ziplock bag and shake to combine.

Dunk the chicken, one by one, in the egg mixture.  Then put the chicken in the ziplock and shake to coat it with crumb mixture.  Put on baking sheet.  Cook for 10 minutes, then turn.  Cook for 15 more until slightly golden and done inside.

Leave a Reply

