Skip to content

thai seafood chowder and noodles

January 24, 2009

I lifted this right from The Patent and the Pantry.  She has lovely lovely pictures on her site, so please click through to her.  Do not look at this photo:

thai

I really liked this dish.  Mike said it was ‘good’.  I am not sure what this means.  He calls everything ‘good’.  (And then he told me he was an IT Security guy, not a food critic). 

I did not serve it when my older kids were around because I knew they wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot pole.  (Shrimp makes Isaac fake-vomit). 

Despite all this, I liked it.  It was light, but had a little kick of spice behind it.  It is a good way to get fish into a meal without it being too fishy.  If you know what I mean.  I got the red snapper and the prawns from Billingsgate Fish Company.  I ran in and out of the store, and I was too chicken to take a picture.  But Billingsgate is an Alberta franchise that sells fish.  Good fish.  But expensive fish.  The red snapper was almost $9/pound.  I bought four crab cakes for $19.  But since it is local-ish, I would encourage you to buy fish there…as opposed to the grocery store fish, which always looks a bit sad to me.  The Billingsgate Fish, although dead, somehow seemed happier to me.  I think it is the way it is displayed.

Thai Seafood Chowder and Noodles
-from the Patent and the Pantry

1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
2 shallots, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 thumb sized piece of fresh ginger, grated (a Suz addition)
1/4 cup lemongrass sauce (I could not find lemongrass paste)
2 cups chicken stock
1 can (398 mL) lite coconut milk
1 red chili, seeded and minced
2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
1 Tablespoon fish sauce
1 Tablespoon brown sugar
zest and juice of one lemon
1 pound snapper, cut into one inch chunks
a dozen prawns, uncooked, tails on
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
1 tablespoon chopped peanuts
1 package shanghai noodles

Heat the oil in a large deep frying pan.  Add shallots and saute for 5 minutes.  Add garlic, chili and ginger and cook for another minute.  Add stock, coconut milk, lemongrass sauce, rice vinegar, fish sauce, brown sugar and lemon zest and juice.   Simmer for 20 minutes.

In the meantime, stir fry the noodles.

Add seafood and cook only about 2-3 minutes, until cooked through.  Do not overcook!  Add the cilantro and peanuts for garnish.

 

Billingsgate Fish Company
7331 – 104 Street
Edmonton
780.433.0091

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

