Skip to content

president obama

January 21, 2009

I was glued to CNN yesterday watching all the Inauguration hoopla.  I am an Obama admirer, and I was very excited to see the 44th President of the United States being sworn into office. 

The Backseat Gourmet has a post up about Obama, and a link to this funny site:  Obama Food.  It is a bit paparazzi – reporting that Sasha Obama ate banana shave ice when they were in Hawai’i (well, who doesn’t eat shave ice when they are in Hawai’i!?), people making Obama beer (called the Audacity of Hope – GET IT?) and Ben’s Chili Bowl in Washington that has had lineups around the block since Obama ate there last week.  I find this rather amusing.  Poor guy can’t eat a bowl of chili without it being broadcast around the world.  His life as he knows it is over.  Talk about dedicating your life to service.

My interest in Obama transcends my regular celebrity obsessions.  I watched him campaign for two years on the ticket of choosing hope over fear.   I do unpaid work in the health care and disability worlds – I sit on a council, chair a committee, coordinate a program, visit new parents and make presentations.   Hearing Obama eloquently speak about a day of service on Martin Luther King Jr. Day really resonates with me. 

Here’s what I believe:
It is one of the beautiful compensations of this life that no one can sincerely try to help another without helping himself.  -Charles Dudley Warner

What are you going to do for someone else today?

canvassinginrain1
Foodie Suz canvassing for Obama in Northern Virginia in early November.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 9:16 pm

    We already volunteer with the Roots of Empathy program, but I am looking to expand my involvement. And I’ve signed on for some conference coordination – for a quilt conference. Not exactly full public, but people will be happy.
    He is an inspiration, that’s for sure. So glad you were able to campaign, wow!

  2. January 21, 2009 9:35 pm

    Every single thing counts…there’s not a weighting system with volunteer work – I think it all needs to be done.

    Sometimes we ask our kids: ‘what did you do for someone else today?’ Sometimes all I have to say that day was ‘There was a guy with much less groceries, so I let him in front of me in the line’. Pass it forward!

  3. January 22, 2009 2:38 pm

    Good for you! Nice post. I went to the Obama food site too. Crazy. But isn’t it the Audacity of HOPS?

  4. January 22, 2009 3:36 pm

    Oh geez – that’s almost too much! Americans are very skilled at making something out of nothing…can you IMAGINE us talking about Stephen Harper in this way? Does anybody even care what Stephen Harper ate for dinner??

Leave a Reply

