Skip to content

giada’s apricot and nut cookies with amaretto icing

January 16, 2009

apricotcookies

Now, I’ve confessed my love for Amaretto before, so it is no surprise that I became extremely excited to turn on Food Network one day and see Giada making these cookies.  With Amaretto icing.

Now I have nothing in common with Giada, who is Italian, has a big head and a very little body, and who dresses impeccably at all times.  She wears white clothes to cook red tomato sauce.  She also always shows off her cleavage. 

I do not wear white while cooking.  My head is in proportion with my body.  I will not comment on the cleavage.  I am also only 25% Italian.   So naturally my cookies did not turn out like her cookies.  Mine were irregularly shaped and decidedly imperfect.  But they sure tasted good.

These are little gems of sugar cookies stuffed with the goodness of apricots, almonds and pine nuts.  The glaze on top is most delicious, mostly because it is made from my friend Amaretto.  I rolled the dough into balls and then flattened them, instead of doing the roll into a tube/put it in the fridge thing – which made for irregular, but still tasty morsels.

Giada’s Apricot and Nut Cookies with Amaretto Icing

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1 1/4 cups white flour
1/2 cup dried apricots, chopped coarsely
1/4 cup slivered almonds, toasted
2 Tablespoons pine nuts, toasted

1 3/4 icing sugar
5 Tablespoons Amaretto

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Beat the butter, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and salt in a mixer until fluffy.  Beat in egg.  Stir in flour until blended.  Add the apricots, pine nuts and almonds and mix to combine.

Roll into balls and place on baking sheet and flatten.  Bake 15-17 minutes, until just beginning to get golden around the edges.

Combine icing sugar with Amaretto – until it has the consistency of a glaze.  Wait until the cookies are completely cooled and then spread glaze on top.

One Comment leave one →
  1. raidar permalink
    January 16, 2009 7:00 pm

    I always laugh when I think of her strange head to body ratio.

    Your cookies look delicious.

Leave a Reply

