Skip to content

biggest flops

January 13, 2009

The Amateur Gourmet has a very amusing post up called Biggest Flops.  I love imperfection and self-deprecation in the food blog world.  I mean, the reason I don’t post all our meals every single day is that sometimes I am eating Wendy’s dry dry chicken wraps in the car on the way to my kid’s soccer game.  Or I am eating repeats of things on rotation when I run out of imagination.  Or I go to a local restaurant, and I just cannot bring myself to give it a glowing review, so I don’t give it any review at all.  Or sometimes I scarf down food without taking notes or photos.  Or I eat the most uninteresting food that I’m ashamed to share it:

dsc_0262
Like, who cares about a grilled cheese sandwich?

tomatosalad
Or a tomato, basil, mozza ball, olive oil, basalmic vinegar and garlic salad?

mikestarts
Or my husband’s beloved Christmas baking:  mincemeat out of a jar tarts in preformed tart shells.  I mean, I love that man like crazy but this is hardly an experiment in culinary creativity.

 Or sometimes I just plain flop. 

dsc_0257
Like a poundcake that was overmixed, dry dry dry and could have been used as a doorstop.

dsc_0055
A woefully underbaked brownie – a sad waste of Callebaut chocolate. 

dsc_00501
Ravioli with shrimp and salmon.  Bland and goopy.  An unmitigated disaster and another terrible waste of good materials.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    January 13, 2009 10:16 am

    Perhaps that brownie is just a tad misunderstood…

    http://orangette.blogspot.com/2005/08/days-that-are-good-flesh-continuingon.html

    Was it still delicious?!

  2. January 13, 2009 10:30 am

    Sadly, they were toooo undercooked to eat. Mush inside.

    By the time I figured this out, they were all cooled – I guess I could have put them back in the oven…but I was worried they’d end up like bricks then. Maybe I should have tried that?

  3. January 13, 2009 12:32 pm

    If you run into that unfortunate scenario again (with the brownies, I mean), I’d say you should try putting them back in the oven. I mean, if they’re already inedible, there’s no harm in trying to rescue them. Right?

    If they don’t turn out, then they’re no worse than they were before—inedible is inedible, regardless of the reason.

  4. January 13, 2009 1:06 pm

    Yes, yes, you are right – I should have tried to salvage the brownies.

    I was very distraught – and my emotional state of mind likely led to me chucking the whole pan in the garbage in a STATE.

Leave a Reply

