Skip to content

i bow down to mark bittman

January 12, 2009

tomatopasteAs per Mark Bittman’s instructions, I found tomato paste in a tube.  From the Italian Centre.  It was $1.69 for 130 grams, but then it is double concentrated, so that actually means 260 grams.  So this is cheaper than conventional Unico tomato paste.  

This is not such an exotic item, but I have never purchased it before.  I often just need one or two tablespoons of tomato paste (like when I made Beef Stroganoff last night.  I used the same recipe as linked, except I added 2 Tablespoons dijon mustard and substituted brandy for the cooking sherry.  This made it taste peppier), so a whole tin is indeed a waste. 

I reluctantly concede that Mark Bittman was correct.  This time.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 12:45 pm

    I didn’t even know tomato paste came in a tube until you mentioned it last week. I’ll have to get down to the Italian Centre and pick some up, for exactly the reasons that you mentioned.

    I, too, have occasionally had to open whole can when, in fact, I only needed 2 or 3 tablespoons of the stuff.

  2. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    January 12, 2009 7:27 pm

    Okay guys this is from frugal Mom. Spoon out the left over tomato paste from the can onto some wax paper on a cookie sheet (a tablespoon in each blob works well) and freeze it. When it is frozen put the blobs into a container, keep them in the freezer and voila you have the small amount that you need. I have bought the paste in a tube from the market at Coombs, but find that my blobs work just fine, too.

  3. January 13, 2009 10:31 am

    I think us children of the 80’s (and 90’s) could take some lessons from the children of the 60’s on how to stretch our food dollar!

  4. madalenab permalink
    January 15, 2009 10:29 am

    We have almost always used tomato paste in a tube – what can I say it’s an Italian thing. Oddly enough I have been able to buy tomato paste in a tube at the London Drugs in Oliver Square & it’s the same kind that I would buy from the Italian Centre Shop.

  5. January 15, 2009 10:35 am

    I’m glad I subscribed to comments! Madalenab’s comment will save me a trip to the Italian Centre. I can walk to London Drugs, where I’d have to drive to the Italian Centre, so I win and so does the environment!

Leave a Reply

