Skip to content

scalloped potatoes

January 10, 2009

Flashback time.  In the 1970’s, in the suburbs, we ate scalloped potatoes with ham.  This was considered a special meal.  My mom’s potatoes were perfectly cooked, spiced with pepper and creamy.   I have a very vivid memory of cleaning out the scalloped potato glass baking dish.  The dish is a bitch to clean, unless you have a magic pot like I do.  In this pot, everything turns out perfectly, and cleaning is a breeze.  (I need to make a commercial for Le Creuset.  I love my pot so much that I’d sell my soul to them in an instant). 

Enough about my pot.  I tried to reconstruct my mom’s scalloped potatoes today, but these ones were cheesier.  Since I love cream and cheese (sadly), and I could easily proclaim them a winner.

scallopedpotatoes

We ate them with pork chops (it is +2 degrees, so they were barbecued on the balcony!) and mashed squash (cut in half, roast for an hour in the oven in a baking dish with two inches of water in it.  Scoop out and warm in saucepan with two tablespoons butter, two tablespoons brown sugar, splash of cream and salt and pepper).

Caution:  the potatoes take FOREVER to cook.  Be patient. 

Scalloped Potatoes with Three Cheeses
-adapted from Bon Appetit recipe

3/4 cup extra old cheddar cheese, grated
3/4 cup crumbled goat’s cheese
1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

8 medium potatoes, skin on, sliced to 1/4 inch
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup yellow onion, finely chopped
3 Tablespoons white flour
2 Tablespoons butter

1 cup whole milk
1 cup whipping cream

Preheat oven to 400.  Butter your beautiful red baking dish.  Mix cheeses together in a small bowl.

Put half your potatoes in the dish, overlapping a bit.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper, onions and flour.  Dot with half the butter and sprinkle half the cheese mixture over.  Put on the rest of the potatoes, more salt/pepper and the rest of the butter. 

Warm the milk/cream until simmering.  Pour over mixture.  Put in oven for 45 minutes with lid on.  Take out, sprinkle on the rest of cheese and remove lid.  Cook for another 45 minutes.  Let sit 15 minutes before serving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    January 11, 2009 2:11 pm

    This recipe looks awesome. I’m going to try it. I’m also a Le Creuset whore, I mean fan. I’ve picked up most of my pots as “seconds” at clearance places like Home Sense. They’re just awesome.

  2. January 11, 2009 11:19 pm

    This looks fabulous – cheese and cream are among the greatest things in the world! I think I’ll have to wait to try this out though, as I had 3 servings of Yorkshire pudding today. 😦

  3. January 13, 2009 1:22 pm

    Scallop potatoes HAVE to be served with ham. No other option.
    Out of all the gifts my Hubby has ever given me my la Creuset is my favourite. It might be better than the jewelry…

Trackbacks

  1. DeVines Wine Spectator Top 100 Tasting « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

