Skip to content

carbonara, again

January 6, 2009

Pasta carbonara is on regular rotation at our house.  Here it is in July, but I updated it with more protein and made the Italian sausage meatballs.  All you have to do it squeeze the meat out of some Italian sausages (I try to have extra on hand in my freezer from the Italian Centre), which is a rather disgusting job.  Then I shaped five big meatballs out of four sausages, fried them up in olive oil, added the bacon (as per the recipe) and then threw in all the hot meat into the pasta along with the sauce.

The result is smooth and silky…and with the addition of the meatballs, hearty.

Isn’t she lovely?

carbonara

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 3:57 pm

    I totally do the same thing to make meatballs. There is a sausage maker that is at the St. Albert farmer’s market (embarrassed I can’t remember their name since I buy their lincolnshire sausages as often as bread and milk all summer long), and I cut the casings to make meatballs sometime. It’s fast and easy – nothing bad about that!

Leave a Reply

