Skip to content

happy new year!

December 31, 2008

Inspired by Food Bytes, here are my Foodie Resolutions.  Feel free to join in on the comments!

In 2009,

I will drink more water.  And eat less cheese.  Although this will be difficult.
I will make a dish with filo pastry.  Successfully.
I will find cardamom pods and free-range chickens.  Near my house.
I will learn in a cooking class with my 12 year old daughter.
I will teach my 15 year old son some basic cooking skills.
I will read Michael Pollan’s Omnivore’s Dilemma.  About three years late.
I will not be a food snob.  Kraft Dinner and ichiban have their place in this world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2009 9:36 am

    Haha, after years of tearing phyllo pastry, I think I finally have it down (thanks to my love of spanakopita, and my bizarre inclination to make it from scratch with spinach from my garden rather than buying perfectly good stuff from the store). Amazingly enough I find it is all about having the dough at the right temp, and then just working really really fast (and gluing any ripped bit back with melted butter).

    I should make your first resolution as well, but I don’t like to fail, so I will not.

Leave a Reply

