Skip to content

mustard-roasted fish, cheesy acorn squash, sauteed green beans

December 30, 2008

mustardfishWe had fish tonight.  This was my attempt to get back to normal eating.   I have had enough large roasted animals and mincemeat tarts for one lifetime.  Or at least until Easter.

(Although I have realized there’s nothing normal about this house or its inhabitants. In fact, I’m not even positive that normal even exists.  And if it does, it is overrated). 

My first try at a recipe out of my new Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics cookbook was a clear winner.  In fact, I followed the recipe so exactly that I will not type it out here.  Here it is, as published in the Washington Post.  Trust me, tracking down creme fraiche, whole grain mustard and capers in the supermarket is totally worth it.  I used snapper, which was $7.52 for two servings.  This was an economical meal.

I also blanched some green beans in boiling water for two minutes, and then sauteed them in olive oil and garlic in a hot pan for about 3 minutes.  But before I did anything, I cooked an acorn squash:

Cheesy Acorn Squash
-adapted from Best of Bridge
(for two people)

1 acorn squash
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons chopped flat leaf parsley
1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
handful of frozen corn (even better if you can find it fresh – then cut the corn off one cob)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Cut the acorn squash in half, scooped out the seeds and put it face down on a baking sheet for one hour.  Take it out and drizzle with olive oil.

Fry up the red onion and corn for about four minutes.  Add the parsley, season with salt and pepper and then fill the acorn halves with the mixture.  Put back in the oven for 15 minutes.

Take the squash out again and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top.  Put back in the oven for 5 minutes.   Serve one half per person with a spoon for scooping!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    December 30, 2008 11:02 pm

    I’m curious, where did you find crème fraîche in an Edmonton supermarket? I’ve been looking, albeit not terribly extensively, for quite some time. I know it’s easy to make at home, but still, this excites me (my world is often very small).

  2. December 31, 2008 7:45 am

    Believe it or not, I actually found it at Save-On Foods…I was so surprised to happen upon it, I bought a bottle ‘just in case’ (and used it up within a week!).

Leave a Reply

